Goodman draft inducer won't start


  #1  
Old 03-02-14, 11:43 AM
D
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 9
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Goodman draft inducer won't start

Hi folks - thank you in advance for the service your provide the DIY community.

My setup:
Model: Goodman GPG10240451A
Model Desc.: 2T PKG GAS 10 SEER 45K 1PH
Install Date: 9/12/2005

I have no heat in my house. After a lot of troubleshooting I've figured out that the 230v draft inducer is attempting to start up but doesn't. Basically every 10 seconds the motor "bumps" but it never spins up to operating speeds.

I testing the t-stat and I'm getting a constant 24v across the W terminal...so I ruled that out. Since the motor never spins up I'm assuming the pressure switch is a non-factor since that's downstream in the process. And I'm also assuming the control board is fine because I'm reading a constant 240v from the DI board terminals when the t-stat is calling for heat.

Before I invest in a new DI unit...is there anything obvious I'm missing?

Thanks!
 
  #2  
Old 03-02-14, 11:58 AM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Jersey
Posts: 70,938
Received 3,163 Likes on 2,842 Posts
No..... you aren't missing anything.
If there is 240vac on the motor leads and it won't start.... it's defective.
 
  #3  
Old 03-02-14, 04:54 PM
D
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 9
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Whew...thanks for the reply. With any luck I'll swap out that part and be back in business. I'll report back tomorrow.
 
  #4  
Old 03-04-14, 11:43 AM
D
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 9
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Fixed!

Just wanted to let y'all know that the draft inducer motor was in fact the issue. An easy replacement got everything back up and running! Thanks again for the help.
 
  #5  
Old 03-05-14, 08:18 PM
F
Member
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Virginia
Posts: 80
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Was that the first time you had to replace the inducer motor? I have a model GPG 13300701BB and my inducer motor stopped working a few weeks ago. Same situation, came home and had no heat. I was lucky that my home warrenty paid for almost all of the replacement costs.
 
  #6  
Old 03-06-14, 04:53 PM
J
Member
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: united states
Posts: 37
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Gas furnaces are 115v for typical residential applications. If your inducer does not start and you have 115v at the inducer plug than its defective, be sure your inducer doesn't have a capacitor mounted to it as different models will vary. The pressure switch will only work if the inducer is good, be sure their are no obstructions in your flue. Monitor the voltage at the inducer when it starts up, as long as their s no power loss, your inducer will need to be replaced and you should be good to go. Hope this helps.
 
  #7  
Old 03-06-14, 11:16 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Jersey
Posts: 70,938
Received 3,163 Likes on 2,842 Posts
In this case..... the OP had a packaged unit and it used a 240v inducer motor.
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: