Goodman Gas Pack

Reply

  #1  
Old 03-25-14, 06:39 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Virginia
Posts: 77
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Goodman Gas Pack

My Goodman Gas pack has stopped working again. Model GPG13300701BB The inducer motor stopped working on 2/10/14 I had the motor assembly replaced . Could it be the motor again? or something else causing my problem. Any suggestions? Thanks, Bobby
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 03-25-14, 07:16 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 54,588
Received 511 Votes on 481 Posts
It could be the inducer motor again. If you're going to service the unit yourself you need to go out and observe the order of events.

When the t'stat calls for heat the inducer should start.
+/- 30 seconds later the igniter should start to glow.
+/- 30 seconds later the burner should light.

Your unit should have a control board on it that will be flashing a trouble code. That will help diagnose the problem.
 
  #3  
Old 03-25-14, 08:09 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Virginia
Posts: 77
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
When the thermostat calls for heat, nothing on the unit turns on. I had the inducer motor replaced through my home warrenty and a local hvac repairman. I was just wondering what could cause the motor to fail so soon, or if I have bigger problems with the unit.
 
  #4  
Old 03-26-14, 06:16 AM
Group Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: NC, USA
Posts: 21,583
Received 316 Votes on 290 Posts
If the inducer motor is not coming on you could have another problem. Is the unit getting power? Is power being sent to the motor? Are you getting any blink codes? If you go to this website you can enter your model number to see the blink codes for your machine.

Since the inducer motor was recently replaced it's unlikely that it's bad again. It's possible but unlikely. But it's only one part in a system with a lot of other bits so you'll have to do some diagnosing if you want to fix it yourself. First I would start by setting the thermostat to call for heat then pull the service disconnect (turn it off) on the outside unit. Wait about 10 seconds then re-install the disconnect to restore power to the outside unit. Does it do anything? Make any sounds?
 
  #5  
Old 03-26-14, 07:38 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Virginia
Posts: 77
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Thanks for the info. I made a copy of the fault codes. Hopefully I can get some answers.
 
  #6  
Old 03-26-14, 07:44 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Virginia
Posts: 77
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Forgot to mention that when I turn the fan switch on the thermostat to "on" the fan will turn on and blow air through the ducts. When you switch it to"heat" the fan will stop and unit will not run. Thanks
 
  #7  
Old 03-26-14, 08:13 AM
Group Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: NC, USA
Posts: 21,583
Received 316 Votes on 290 Posts
Have you tried pulling the service disconnect and re-connecting it? Did the outside unit do anything?
 
  #8  
Old 03-26-14, 09:08 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Virginia
Posts: 77
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
I pulled the disconnect and waited a min then pushed back in. The inducer fan ran for a min and you could hear the ignitor firing but it shut down soon after that.
 
  #9  
Old 03-26-14, 07:51 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Virginia
Posts: 77
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
I had a professional come out today and he determined that the ignitor and circuit board need to be replaced. I am lucky that my home warrrenty is going to cover the repair costs.
 
  #10  
Old 03-27-14, 12:53 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 54,588
Received 511 Votes on 481 Posts
The draft inducer motor was replaced but it sounds like it may not have been bad. It could have been the control board the entire time. The only way to positively identify defective parts is by testing with a meter.
 
  #11  
Old 03-27-14, 07:34 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Virginia
Posts: 77
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
The inducer motor had failed last month. It was replaced. Today I had a new circuit board and ignitor installed by the the HVAC company that my home warrenty uses. Heat is back on. Hopefully the unit will last a while longer. Thanks
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: