York furnace limit switch

Reply

  #1  
Old 04-23-14, 06:09 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 30
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
York furnace limit switch

Hello,

Hope the experts here can help us This all happened after changed filter sooner than needed!!

York Furnace model: GY9S080B12UP11G

On limit switch [small round black piece with two prongs on one side] it says 36TX11 21564 L160-20F 1230-4194 A1032

Believe this is the part: 025-38737-000 Limit Switch for Inducer

Getting 4 flashing red lights which is code for Limit switch open AND if leave furnace on for more than 5 minutes there are 11 flashing red lights which is code for Limit switch open - Blower failure.

There is cold air coming from registers so presumably blower is working so do not understand the 11 flashing red lights.

If jumper the wires then do get burners come on with regular heat.

My course of action was going to be to replace limit switch first and hope that fixes.

Concern is that 11 flashing red lights indicating blower failure. Is that normal to get 11 flashing red lights after have 4 flashing red lights for 5 minutes?

If turn off/on gas and power then it goes through same cycle of 4 then 11 flashing red lights.

Would it be recommended to do change blower?

Does motor in these models normally get warm to the touch?... seems warmer than I would expect but my expertise not high.


Thanks!!
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 04-23-14, 06:29 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 52,676
Received 343 Votes on 321 Posts
Welcome to the forums.

This all happened after changed filter sooner than needed!!
It sounds like you are using a filter that restricts the air flow too much.
Try a basic fiberglass filter.

Your problem is an airflow issue. It's because your blower motor is slowing down, or not always starting properly, clogged/restrictive filter.
 
  #3  
Old 04-23-14, 06:41 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 30
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Thank you.

Was working fine for months with same filters. Suggest to change every 3 months but usually change every 6-8 weeks. Perhaps a coincidence it happened with filter change because even if try furnace without a filter still get red flashing error codes.

When jumper the limit switch wires furnace works.
 
  #4  
Old 04-23-14, 09:26 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 52,676
Received 343 Votes on 321 Posts
The safety stat could be bad although they are usually fairly reliable.

I'm trying to figure out why it's called an inducer safety as it's in the blower line.
The blower motor can get fairly warm and warmer if it doesn't get enough air movement.

The following is the link to your manual. Page 20 discusses the limit.
York manual
 
  #5  
Old 04-24-14, 06:36 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 30
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Replacing the limit switch would be good first step then or suggest something else? Thanks.
 
  #6  
Old 04-24-14, 07:18 AM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 52,676
Received 343 Votes on 321 Posts
If you feel that you don't have an airflow issue..... then change the switch.
 
  #7  
Old 05-02-14, 09:36 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 30
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Limit switch finally installed .

This is my Mom’s and sister’s place so not always there and grew up with baseboard electric heating with ac in windows in summer so very new to this central air/heat!!

York Furnace model: GY9S080B12UP11G installed in 2004.
House is 2250 sq ft with two storeys and unfinished basement. Purchased in 2012.

The old switch had the following on it 36TX11 21564 L160-20F 1230-4194 A1032; new switch is same writing except for last four numbers.

Furnace now stays on for 7-10 minutes couple of times a hour to keep thermostat at 72F.

Ventor/motor? Seems to get hot [not sure what is normal hot] so I have kept upper furnace panel off to assist in cooling. Any issues with that?

Any carbon monoxide issues?


The initial error was “Getting 4 flashing red lights which is code for Limit switch open AND if leave furnace on for more than 5 minutes there are 11 flashing red lights which is code for Limit switch open - Blower failure.”

Was the 11 lights simply a result of the furnace being on and after 5 minutes the furnace no longer tries to ignite and gives blower failure OR are we looking at blower failure soon?

Also is it normal for blower to keep running for about 5 minutes after furnace flame off… this gets rid of any hot air in system?

Using Filtrete 900 filter now so not the lowest but not highest MERV rating.

Have some condensation and registrars questions however will post those in different threads so not confusing with thread titles; unless mods prefer otherwise?

Thanks.
 
Attached Images     
  #8  
Old 05-02-14, 07:00 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 52,676
Received 343 Votes on 321 Posts
That inducer motor will run too hot to touch..... that's normal.

That front cover is a safety cover. You won't get any CO issues from it being off. Probably best to run with that cover in place..... it shouldn't have any bearing on your current problem.

Usually a sensor is placed in the heat exchanger area in the heated air side.
That sensor is in the exhaust line out of the inducer.

I'm going to check into this. If you don't hear anything in a day or two leave a little reminder here.
 
  #9  
Old 05-03-14, 12:20 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 30
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Can see round burn marks on cover [where have manufacturer instruction] so it seems motor is touching or very close to front cover.

Talked to a neighbour and he keeps cover on but slightly protruding from bottom where motor is as he also noticed heat issue.

Will wait for further info from you.

Many thanks.
 
  #10  
Old 05-03-14, 12:44 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 52,676
Received 343 Votes on 321 Posts
I left a message for the pro to check in on this thread.

Your system seems to be running hot there.... with the discoloration of the service door and the problem with the inducer stat.
 
  #11  
Old 05-03-14, 08:13 PM
Houston204's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Texas
Posts: 7,372
Received 10 Votes on 8 Posts
I have seen this problem with an 80% York furnace that had a restriction in the vent pipe. Since you have a 90% furnace the restriction could also be in the secondary heat exchanger.
 
  #12  
Old 05-13-14, 07:00 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 30
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
PJmax: Any word from pro?

Does run hot just not sure if normal hot or not as didn't really look at before and pretty new to central air and heat.

Thanks!!
 
  #13  
Old 05-13-14, 07:14 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 52,676
Received 343 Votes on 321 Posts
Sorry..... Houston is the forum pro.

I don't know this furnace well enough to be able to offer any more help. I'll have Houston check back in again.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: