Trane XR80, Won't start.

Reply

  #1  
Old 04-30-14, 09:34 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: USA
Posts: 1
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Trane XR80, Won't start.

I installed a Trane XR80 last fall. It ran fine all winter. Now, in late April it won't start. I traced electrical power into the furnace and past the access cover switch. Had power up to a part c340041P04. Then nothing. What do I do.
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 04-30-14, 10:00 PM
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: USA
Posts: 41
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
The number you gave does not tell me what component is. Is this a limit/safety. Did you remove door before ac was to be initiated? Like to change or clean filter. If so did you make sure you put panels back on correctly. There is a door switch that has to be made (pushed in). I've seen customers get panels reversed or not snapped back in correct. This will cause failure of switch. A door tab depresses it. If not pressed no ac or heat. If you have not opened panels and still have failure ********. I can gather more data from it. Good luck*******I was a silver star York heat pump tech 15 yrs ago. Went industrial equipment at that point.
 

Last edited by GregH; 05-01-14 at 04:17 AM. Reason: Remove email address.............not allowed.
  #3  
Old 04-30-14, 10:10 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 52,531
Received 327 Votes on 306 Posts
Welcome to the forums.

That part is the 120vac to 24vac control transformer. If you measured 120 vac on the input side and 0v on the output side...... it's defective.
 
  #4  
Old 05-01-14, 03:40 PM
Member
Join Date: May 2014
Location: USA
Posts: 8
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Many of these furnaces have a simple fuse (looks like a car fuse) on the main board. Pull it out if it has one and see if it has a break in the wire.
 
  #5  
Old 05-01-14, 10:00 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 52,531
Received 327 Votes on 306 Posts
OP stated he had voltage UP TO the transformer and no voltage on the output side.
 
  #6  
Old 05-17-14, 12:15 PM
Member
Join Date: May 2014
Posts: 3
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
If it was me, after taking off the bottom cover and holding in the panel swith, and making sure the thermostat was turned up to 90 degrees I would watch you LED on the control board and see what fault you have. There is a list of fault cods on the cover. My bet is you have a bad limit switch and or bad thermostat or bad thermostat wire connection. If all else fails you could just short out your pins that your thermostat is tied into, just to rule out a bad thermostat.
 
  #7  
Old 05-17-14, 12:19 PM
Member
Join Date: May 2014
Posts: 3
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
When he said he had no reading on transformer side, is he sure he was not checking a dc reading?
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: