Condensate Line Clean out - Gas Furnace / AC in attic

Reply

  #1  
Old 05-01-14, 04:39 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: May 2014
Location: USA
Posts: 8
Condensate Line Clean out - Gas Furnace / AC in attic

I have an American Standard 90+ Gas furnace with the associated AC coils in the attic and I don't get up there too often to inspect. I am doing some spring cleaning up there and wanted to get some advice on the condensate line.

First, I noticed that it is not cemented in place (PVC cement) and can be pulled apart at one of the joints at the upstream end of the "trap" component. See the attached photo.

I have two questions.

How often and what is the best way to clean the trap/ line if necessary.

and

Should all the PVC joints be cemented in tight or did the installer avoid this so the trap could be easily removed.
 
Attached Images  
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 05-01-14, 06:59 PM
Grady's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Delaware, The First State
Posts: 13,925
The trap & line can be blown out with compressed air or often just lung power.
The installer probably left that joint unglued for service but it is not good practice to do so. I prefer to install a union or a piece of rubber hose with clamps.
There should be a tee with a piece of PVC in the branch of the tee downstream of the trap.
When finished blowing out the trap & line, pour some hot water down it to help flush out any remaining slime. When you put things back together, pull off the cap on the tee at the furnace & pour in about 1/2 cup of ordinary bleach. Let it sit for an hour or so then chase with hot water & reinstall the cap. This cleaning should be done at least annually.
 
  #3  
Old 05-02-14, 03:35 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: May 2014
Location: USA
Posts: 8
Thanks for the good explanation.

That all makes good sense. Glad to know the process. This has definitely not been done yearly. It looks like I need to do a better job of having the system maintained.
 
  #4  
Old 05-02-14, 03:51 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: May 2014
Location: USA
Posts: 8
Grady,

As I look over the notes on this, one other item pops up. This system is in an unheated attic. Does this condensation line need to be insulated?
 
  #5  
Old 05-03-14, 05:57 PM
Grady's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Delaware, The First State
Posts: 13,925
The condensate line with the trap in your picture is for the A/C. Is there another drain for the furnace? If there is, I suggest a heat trace on the line.
Where in MD are you?
 
  #6  
Old 05-03-14, 08:07 PM
Member
Join Date: May 2014
Posts: 7
It would be my opinion that the installer missed that one because the vibration from the blower could cause that to separate. The cap on top is suppose to come off to blow out the drain. Use a PVC cleaner first, then a pvc cement to reconnect.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes