Condensation trap

Reply

  #1  
Old 08-14-14, 08:28 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Aug 2014
Posts: 17
Condensation trap

Reccently had a high efficiency furnace installed.

While reading my manual I seen it lists a condesate trap as an optional item. After looking it seems I dont have one. Just wondering if I should have one installed.

Ounce of prevention and all that.

While im at it do power vented water heaters also use these?
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 08-15-14, 04:22 AM
airman.1994's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: VA
Posts: 5,710
Likes Received: 1
If it is in a positive pressure you do not need one. If in a negative pressure you will always need one.
 
  #3  
Old 08-15-14, 06:53 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Aug 2014
Posts: 17
So maybe or yes.
If I dont need one no harm will befall me and mine by having one... so yes?
 
  #4  
Old 08-25-14, 05:30 AM
Member
Join Date: Aug 2014
Posts: 6
can you post a picture of your furnace with the doors off?
 
  #5  
Old 03-07-15, 09:56 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Aug 2014
Posts: 17
Sorry for the late reply.

The pipe I am touching is the pipe on the right(upside down its left) of the furnace inside,conected to the black boot.

My phone camera may have been upside down For the furnace interiors.

The circuit board is in the lower cabinet.

I changed the filter while I was in there.






 
  #6  
Old 03-07-15, 11:29 AM
Member
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: USA
Posts: 2,103
IT hard to tell anything by those pic's. Are you talking about the furnace trap or the AC trap?
 
  #7  
Old 03-07-15, 12:20 PM
Grady's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Delaware, The First State
Posts: 13,925
I can't tell anything about the trap from the pictures. If you post them on a photo sharing site such as photobucket & provide a link here we can probably get a better look.

One thing I did see was your use of pleated filters. Don't do it. They cause more problems than they cure.
 
  #8  
Old 03-07-15, 12:39 PM
czizzi's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: USA
Posts: 7,357
Likes Received: 6
If you click on the pictures they will expand. A recent discovery of mine also.
 
  #9  
Old 03-07-15, 03:19 PM
Grady's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Delaware, The First State
Posts: 13,925
Can you post a picture of the whole furnace (with the doors off) so we can see how the various close-ups fit together?
 
  #10  
Old 03-07-15, 04:23 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Aug 2014
Posts: 17
I am not talking about a trap I have.

I am talking about a trap that was mentioned in my furnace manual as optional equipment.

Basicaly it keeps condensation from getting in to the furnace by draining it off.

Pics of the furnace, also a pic of the type of trap I am talking about. It would be installed in one of the white pipes nipple down, im not sure Which just now... its in the manual.









 
  #11  
Old 03-08-15, 07:53 AM
Member
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: USA
Posts: 1,354
Likes Received: 5
What brand/model furnace?

I think the white box beneath the black boot is probably a trap. Nothing additional is needed - the exhaust vent pipes must slope back to the furnace so all liquid goes to that trap. Does the manual talk about priming the trap?
 
  #12  
Old 03-08-15, 09:17 AM
Grady's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Delaware, The First State
Posts: 13,925
The optional trap you pictured can be installed if the vent has a long horizontal run. It should show in the manual when & where it should or may be installed.
 
  #13  
Old 03-08-15, 09:48 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Aug 2014
Posts: 17
@Astuff - I think that is for condensation from heating area, I think the optional trap removes condensation from the combustion air before it reaches the furnace.

@Grady
I dont have the manual handy but I do remember there was not much info, hence why I posted. I think this is one of those things left to local code or contractor whim. Not sure what you ment by long run but my longest is maye 12 feet.

I think airman had it right, but posted puctures because I was asked.

I still think if its maybe or yes... yes is the prudent choice, so long as its never a no things should be fine.
 
  #14  
Old 03-08-15, 01:01 PM
Grady's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Delaware, The First State
Posts: 13,925
I believe Airman was refering to an A/C evaporator coil.

I don't think I've ever seen any kind of trap/drain on intake air. As long as that horizontal run has plenty of slope & especially if it is in a conditioned space, I don't think you would need that trap.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes