Need to elevate furnace


  #1  
Old 10-19-14, 10:05 PM
A
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: USA
Posts: 355
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Need to elevate furnace

Carrier Weather Maker Infinity Furnace was installed too low in such a way that there's not enough space to draw in enough air. Not to code. That's what a tech told me.
How would you lift this furnace? Or would you take it out and the put it back in once a new higher stand is built? Current space drawing air is 29" X 9". How do I know what is sufficient space?
 
  #2  
Old 10-20-14, 06:04 AM
S
Member
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: USA
Posts: 1,771
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
29x9 is most likely to small. Can you post some pics?
 
  #3  
Old 10-20-14, 04:00 PM
A
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: USA
Posts: 355
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
There's also a dryer in the little room here. If I'm not mistaken the guy said that it's considered a fire hazard to be drawing air from the same room. Not sure though.
Here's 3 pics....




 
  #4  
Old 10-20-14, 04:09 PM
ray2047's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 29,711
Upvotes: 0
Received 15 Upvotes on 13 Posts
The URLs for your images are not correct. Photobucket is throwing 404s. If you have the pictures on your computer: http://www.doityourself.com/forum/li...rt-images.html
 
  #5  
Old 10-20-14, 05:50 PM
A
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: USA
Posts: 355
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
  #6  
Old 10-20-14, 05:58 PM
G
Member
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Hamilton County, Ohio
Posts: 3,927
Upvotes: 0
Received 2 Upvotes on 2 Posts
The pictures are in post#3 and look fine to me.
 
  #7  
Old 10-21-14, 09:51 AM
S
Member
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: USA
Posts: 1,771
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Is that the only return air there is? Where is the furnace located? Are you having a problem with the furnace?
 
  #8  
Old 10-21-14, 01:06 PM
A
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: USA
Posts: 355
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Yes. Only return. It's inside a closet which is inside a small hallway with the washer and dryer.
Furnace runs fine, although when I put a grill on there it made kind of a roaring noise. Tech said it needs to be elevated or create more air intake room in order to meet codes.
 
  #9  
Old 10-21-14, 02:10 PM
S
Member
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: USA
Posts: 1,771
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
I don't see any code violations here, just a bad install. Probably 80% of all furnaces are in the same room as a dryer.

Before I move the furnace, I would see if you can cut in another return, either on one of the sides or back.
 

Last edited by skaggsje; 10-21-14 at 02:16 PM. Reason: Added more info.
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: