Do I have a "C" wire connection?

Reply

  #1  
Old 10-22-14, 04:49 PM
D
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: USA
Posts: 96
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Question Do I have a "C" wire connection?

Hi - Can someone please confirm if I indeed have a "C" wire connection on my board? It appears that I do, since there is a white wire which I believe is coming from my A/C unit going into a spot labeled "C". I am confused because this connection is not like the other 4 standard screw type connectors. I am also not sure how to even add a wire into a connector like this.

Any advise is appreciated, thanks!

Name:  20141022_080839.jpg
Views: 201
Size:  30.9 KBName:  20141022_081014.jpg
Views: 246
Size:  50.4 KB
 
  #2  
Old 10-22-14, 05:50 PM
Grady's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Delaware, The First State
Posts: 14,310
Received 27 Votes on 25 Posts
There are crimp on connectors that have a screw terminal on them. You could also spice in a wire with a wire nut.
 
  #3  
Old 10-22-14, 05:58 PM
firedawgsatx's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: USA
Posts: 1,726
Received 1 Vote on 1 Post
Yes, that white wire coming from your a/c condenser is going to the C terminal. They make what is called a piggy back crimp connector and a double tab faston connector for applications like that as shown in the attached images. As Grady stated, a quick and easy way to do it is to splice and wire nut a wire.
 
Attached Images   
  #4  
Old 10-22-14, 07:53 PM
D
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: USA
Posts: 96
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Thanks guys! I hadn't worked with that type of connection before and didn't want to pull it out and break anything. :NO NO NO:

Ran to the store and picked up an18/5 wire and ran it from my new thermo to the furnace, picked up a crimp connector, spliced the wires together, connected it all up and I'm up and running!

Cheers

Gary
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: