Gas furnace flame sensor


  #1  
Old 11-21-14, 08:49 AM
2
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: United States
Posts: 82
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Gas furnace flame sensor

I need to replace the flam sensor on my furnace. After looking at the sensor there is no numbers on this sensor anywhere. How do i any what type of flame sensor i need? are they universal?
 
  #2  
Old 11-21-14, 09:05 AM
firedawgsatx's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: USA
Posts: 1,374
Upvotes: 0
Received 12 Upvotes on 12 Posts
To better assist, please post the model number of your furnace. The model number should be listed on a plate or label inside the compartment where the burners are.
 
  #3  
Old 11-21-14, 02:56 PM
2
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: United States
Posts: 82
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
ok i found the type and model number. It is a Payne Furnace Model PG8MAA036070ACJA. I am looking online for parts but it seems as alot of places replacement and not oem. Is there anywhere i could get oem or the next best thing? the only place i can find all the parts i need is at repairclinic.com.

Any help or suggestions would be great.
Thanks.
 
  #4  
Old 11-21-14, 04:08 PM
firedawgsatx's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: USA
Posts: 1,374
Upvotes: 0
Received 12 Upvotes on 12 Posts
The original part number is LH33WZ515. The specified oem replacement part number is LH680014.

Here is a link to two sources: http://budgethvacparts.com/index.php...-lh680014.html

http://www.supplyhouse.com/Carrier-L...FcSJaQodtWYAJA

The wire attached to the flame sensor shown in the photos on various web-sites is removable.
 
  #5  
Old 11-21-14, 04:10 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Jersey
Posts: 65,972
Received 4,150 Upvotes on 3,727 Posts
It's extremely rare that a flame sensor rod needs to be replaced unless it was physically broken. The existing rod can be taken out and lightly sanded or polished to a bright shine and then put back in to service.

The rod is just a piece of metal..... nothing more.
 

Last edited by PJmax; 11-21-14 at 09:58 PM. Reason: typo
  #6  
Old 11-21-14, 05:50 PM
SeattlePioneer's Avatar
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Seattle, Wa
Posts: 4,469
Upvotes: 0
Received 1 Upvote on 1 Post
Why do you want to replace the flame sensor?

The symptom that would suggest that the flame sensor needs cleaning is:


Hot surface ignitor heats up.

Main burner gas switches on and main burners light off hot surface ignitor

Main burners shut off after about three seconds and ignition sequence begins again.

But as PJ Max says, there is very little reason to replace the flame sensor unless it's been physically damaged.

What most people need to do is clean the coating of invisible oxides off the flame sensor and it will work again just fine.
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: