York Diamond 90 - 3 Code

Old 12-14-14, 08:55 AM
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Question York Diamond 90 - 3 Code

I purchased a home which has a York Diamond 90 converted to propane/high-altitude. In calling for heat, I get the 3-flash code which indicates the pressure switches are not closing for one reason or the other. I have eliminated everything on the list that is associated with this error code. I have taken both pressure switches out of the equation by bypassing each one separately, and also both at the same time. I did this using a jumper wire. I'm a qualified electrician, and have been involved with commercial/industrial electrical systems for over 35 years. This problem has me stumped.

The inducer motor comes on, but nothing else happens. The igniter and gas valve are not seeing any power. This furnace looks like new - there is no discoloration at all around the flame sensor, or anywhere in the burner box for that matter. It's like it was never fired.

Does anyone have any ideas as to what could be going on? I appreciate your time. I know this has been asked and answered before, but in reading every thread I can find about it, I'm still not getting anything to happen in this furnace.

Thank you
Dave S.
Cedar City, UT

Sponsored Links
Old 12-14-14, 09:06 AM
Group Moderator
Received 344 Votes on 322 Posts
Welcome to the forums.

The inducer motor comes on, but nothing else happens. The igniter and gas valve are not seeing any power.
Until the pressure switch circuit is normal.... the igniter wont work and the gas valve wont open. If you read the threads here almost every one has the same pressure switch issue.

You can't just bypass the pressure switches. They need to change status at a certain time to be considered working properly.