trane xb80 not working at all

Reply

  #41  
Old 12-29-14, 01:58 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2014
Posts: 41
Hi
Today i could bought the transformer exactly same as the old one and i'm going to install it this evening , would you please let me know if there is anything important on the Installation instruction .
i'm worried to have it blown !!!
 
Sponsored Links
  #42  
Old 12-29-14, 02:07 PM
firedawgsatx's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: USA
Posts: 1,727
The first thing I would do is to install an in-line fuse holder with a 5 amp fuse to protect the transformer. For installation of the transformer make sure power is off. Wiring replacement should be the same as the original.
 
  #43  
Old 12-29-14, 02:08 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2014
Posts: 41
Thanks My Friend firedawgsatx
 
  #44  
Old 12-29-14, 02:16 PM
firedawgsatx's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: USA
Posts: 1,727
Here is an example of an inline fuse holder.
 
Attached Images  
  #45  
Old 12-29-14, 02:27 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2014
Posts: 41
Hi
Today i bought something exactly same as this one but the only thing that i'm not sure is the wire spec , should it be same as the wire coming out of the transformer ? to which of the out coming wires
should it be connected ? can i detached the wires from it and connect the wire coming out from transformer instead of it ?
 
  #46  
Old 12-29-14, 02:41 PM
firedawgsatx's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: USA
Posts: 1,727
The wiring diagram shows the original transformer has a red and blue wire connected to the low voltage side of the transformer. I would cut the red wire and splice the fuse holder between the two cut ends.
 
  #47  
Old 12-29-14, 02:52 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2014
Posts: 41
Thanks ,
Should the wire in either sides of the fuse holder be same as this red wire? the wires in the 2 sides of the fuse holder i think are a little bit thicker than the red wire coming out of transformer
 
  #48  
Old 12-29-14, 03:17 PM
firedawgsatx's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: USA
Posts: 1,727
No, the different size wire is not a factor.
 
  #49  
Old 12-29-14, 07:58 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2014
Posts: 41
I should thank firedawgsatx , you helped me a lot and i appreciate your help and time .
Finally i changed the transformer and i even kept the old limit switch , and it's working perfectly ,

Thanks again
 
  #50  
Old 12-29-14, 08:07 PM
firedawgsatx's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: USA
Posts: 1,727
You are welcome. Glad to hear you are back up and running and thanks for the update.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes