Furnace / Thermostat Hitting set Temp


  #1  
Old 01-08-15, 06:38 AM
B
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Aug 2014
Posts: 11
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Furnace / Thermostat Hitting set Temp

Not sure if I have a furnace, thermostat or no problem at all. I set my house to maintain a temp. of 73 but the system only heats to 71, cools to 68 then kicks back on to warm the house up to 71, not the 73 I set.

Before yesterday the house would fire right up to 73 and hold no problem and if I set a sch. it would cool down to 69 at night and hold and fire back up to 73 in the morning.

One thing I have noticed is that the inducer (black thing that spins when I open the furnace up) runs for about 5 minutes before the furnace lights which seems excessive compared to what it use to do. I set the temp to 80 just to see what would happen and the inducer ran for about 7 minutes then just turned off and the furnace didnít even turn on. About 30 minutes later the furnace turned on when the temp hit 68 only to warm it up to 71.

Since the furnace still works just not the way I want it to I donít think its a furnace problem, more of a thermostat problem but not sure.

Its a Carrier gas furnace installed in 2001-2002 and was maintained 10 months ago and is clean as a whistle.

Any ideas?
 
  #2  
Old 01-08-15, 07:00 AM
Grady's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Delaware, The First State
Posts: 12,667
Received 39 Upvotes on 37 Posts
When you set it to 80 & it didn't come on is baffling. The only hitting 71* when set for 73* is likely a thermostat issue.
 
  #3  
Old 01-08-15, 08:07 AM
Geochurchi's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 4,960
Received 158 Upvotes on 144 Posts
What type of thermostat are we dealing with? You may be able to remove it from the subbase and jump R to W1 and see if the furnace fires up and brings the temp up.
Is it unusually cold there?
Geo
 
  #4  
Old 01-08-15, 09:04 AM
B
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Aug 2014
Posts: 11
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
I have a honeywell vision pro and for some reason I think its the thermostat not the furnace. I will try and jump the R-W1 when I get home. As for the temperature, its extremely cold where I am.

I called a 800 no. on furnance (company who maintained it last year) and they told me its just too cold out for the furnance to heat to my desired temp. so its shutting off. I am thinking this is BS because I use to live in norther canada where it got much colder for weeks at a time and never had this problem.
 
  #5  
Old 01-08-15, 09:11 AM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Jersey
Posts: 62,035
Received 3,415 Upvotes on 3,063 Posts
the inducer ran for about 7 minutes then just turned off and the furnace didn’t even turn on.
If your draft inducer is running.... then the thermostat IS calling for heat and the furnace is not responding correctly. You may have an issue with the venting system.

Have you looked over your furnace ? Does it have a control board with a blinking trouble LED ?
 
  #6  
Old 01-08-15, 09:43 AM
Geochurchi's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 4,960
Received 158 Upvotes on 144 Posts
I agree with the BS about it being to cold,it still shouldn't shut off, it should be running longer. Are you using batteries,or 24 VAC,?what is the model#of the furnace?
Geo
 

Last edited by Geochurchi; 01-08-15 at 10:02 AM.
  #7  
Old 01-08-15, 11:07 AM
B
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Aug 2014
Posts: 11
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
I must be using 24 VAC since the thermostat does not have any space to put batteries except for a coin bettery to keep the clock set in an outage.

As for the ventins system I am going to check it all tonight and open up all the close vents and check outside for rodent nests etc. and see if that takes care of my issue but I don't think there is any.

When I look in the furnace there are no lights but there is 3 clear plastic circles I can look through (2 beside eachother and 1 higher on the unit) and one has a red led light behing it but its solid.

I will trouble shoot more when I get home.
 
  #8  
Old 01-08-15, 03:52 PM
B
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Aug 2014
Posts: 11
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Get home and the furnace is working and the red light is solid and furnace is heating my house and I can see the flame roaring when the door is off through the plastic window. Furnace shuts off, half hour later I look and the inducer is running and the red light is 1 long, 3 short so it looks like error code 31.

All the vents in the house are working and the black pipe outside is spewing steam to the point I can see grass through a 12 inch snow bank. There is a hard thin white pipe coming coning out of a vent box (??) just above the back of the furnace which leads to a wider black pipe in the cement floor and its dry and free flowing however there is a soft hose that goes from the side of the furnace near the floor that connects to the black pipe going into the floor but it looks clean. The foundation drain is about a foot away from the black pipe.
 
  #9  
Old 01-08-15, 08:35 PM
B
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Aug 2014
Posts: 11
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Researched code 31 and took apart the drainage system and there was about 2 litres of water not draining or by a very slow drip after I unplugged a larger black hose that said "lower drainage" and water started to spu. Got an empty windshield washer bottle and it was a little over half full.

I blew from the upper to lower part of the drainage and no airflow so I filled the top with hot water and it didn't drain so I blew on it with the water blockage and it started to rumble. A mixture of sand and dust came out in gobs. I then cleaned the hoses with a soft pipe cleaner and even more came loose.

Now the furnace is pumping.
 
  #10  
Old 01-09-15, 01:47 PM
Grady's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Delaware, The First State
Posts: 12,667
Received 39 Upvotes on 37 Posts
When the weather warms, I suggest giving it a good flushing. You may want to use a wet/dry vac to aid in the process.
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: