No part number for Bryant 310AAV high limit switch

Reply

  #1  
Old 01-08-15, 08:53 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: United States
Posts: 12
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
No part number for Bryant 310AAV high limit switch

I'm told I need a new one as it is tripping too much.

I cannot find the part#. I have an 80% effic Bryant 310AAV024070ADJA unit. Series D.

Ideas? Are they standard?
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 01-08-15, 09:01 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 54,227
Received 479 Votes on 449 Posts
Why have you started a new thread for your furnace ?

Which limit stat is it.... the one that shuts the burner down and keeps the blower running ?
What kind of problem are you having ?
 
  #3  
Old 01-08-15, 09:13 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: United States
Posts: 12
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
I think it is this one.. yes?
Carrier Amp Bryant HH18HA502 Limit Switch 180 | eBay
 
  #4  
Old 01-08-15, 09:25 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: United States
Posts: 12
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
actually I found the same one (same pic) on ebay. L180..
Carrier Bryant HH18HA502 Limit Switch 180 | eBay

So its a 180F limit I believe
 
  #5  
Old 01-08-15, 09:39 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 54,227
Received 479 Votes on 449 Posts
That doesn't appear to be the correct part. In the link below is a direct match based on your actual model number. I'm questioning which part is correct. This part I've located is a 165 limit while the one you located is 180


Bryant Furnace Limit Switch HH18HA499 Order now for same day shipping. 365 day return policy. Repair Clinic


Who told you it needed replacement ?
Have you checked the filters ?
Have you checked to make sure the returns are not blocked and not too many registers are closed down ?

Many people have changed limit switches to find out the problem remains.
 
  #6  
Old 01-09-15, 07:35 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: United States
Posts: 12
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
I had a service call yesterday.. I had a new filter which was probably too dense and the unit kept tripping (the high limit switch would lock open). It has likely been happening for some time. We put a lighter filter in and the hi limit switch still tripped again after a few minutes. It was locked open.

He gave the switch a tap with a screwdriver and it clicked and the unit went on.. then after a few minutes it stopped.

Leaving the filter out it did not lock.
He did check all of the returns.. open and clear.

He suggested I get a commercial low screen filter, and replace the hi limit switch which may be worn out.

From the picture alone I thought it was an H180, but you are correct from your link. I'll give yours a shot. I will recheck the manual to see what the hi limit temp should lockout at, but it never hurts to use a lower temp.. should never get to 165 anyways.

For $12 its an easy thing to try out, to see if it fixes the issue.
 

Last edited by brianowen; 01-09-15 at 10:15 AM.
  #7  
Old 01-15-15, 11:53 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: United States
Posts: 12
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
I put in a lighter filter and the unit has worked fine since. I did get a new switch but I will hold off on replacing it unless the unit trips again.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: