135,000 BTU on 5/8 copper pipe

Reply

  #1  
Old 01-15-15, 06:05 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Canada
Posts: 17
135,000 BTU on 5/8 copper pipe

I have a furnace around 85,000 BTU fed by a 5/8 outside diameter copper line Its about 50 feet long. I want to "T" into it at the furnace and run the same size line for about 45 feet to a gas stove.
Is the size of the copper pipe large enough for both. Im thinking Ill have to go right back to the meter. The stove is about 50,000 BTU
Thanks Rick
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 01-15-15, 07:02 PM
Grady's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Delaware, The First State
Posts: 13,928
Are we dealing with natural or LP gas?
 
  #3  
Old 01-15-15, 10:04 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Canada
Posts: 17
I just typed Natural Gas got an error saying my message has to be 25 letters long so
Im using Natural Gas
 
  #4  
Old 01-15-15, 11:47 PM
Grady's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Delaware, The First State
Posts: 13,928
We don't know where you are but in my area, we are not allowed to use copper for natural gas. We must use either black steel or CSST (Corrigated Stainless Steel Tubing). With steel pipe, you would have to run 1.25" to the first appliance then 3/4" to the stove.
 
  #5  
Old 01-16-15, 07:00 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Canada
Posts: 17
Thanks for the reply. I'm in Ontario Canada. I have seen several new homes in the past few years with copper gas lines. I understand your answer and that's code where you are but it does not address my question. The furnace was installed by a licensed person so I'm assuming that the 5/8 o/d copper he used to feed my furnace is both code and large enough to supply the furnace. I'm just not sure if it's large enough to feed a gas stove as well.
Thanks
 
  #6  
Old 01-16-15, 08:36 AM
ray2047's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 33,597
Upvotes Received: 13
There are some tables in this PDF that might be helpful. http://www.google.com/url?sa=t&rct=j..._Mivc3ML78GLog
 
  #7  
Old 01-16-15, 11:17 AM
Grady's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Delaware, The First State
Posts: 13,928
Without knowing at what pressure the gas is being supplied, we can't tell you if the 5/8 is large enough or not. At the common 7" W.C. pressure, it is not large enough but at 2 psi, the 5/8 is plenty. You need to check with your gas company about supply pressure.
 
  #8  
Old 01-16-15, 12:06 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Canada
Posts: 17
Thanks for that suggestion I called my supplier (Union Gas) and there telling me that Its under 1 psi. between meter and house. So by that and your reply the 5/8 copper line is not large enough to feed both appliances
Thanks for your input
Rick
 
  #9  
Old 01-16-15, 12:16 PM
Grady's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Delaware, The First State
Posts: 13,928
Rick,
Not knowing the pressure other than "under 1 psi", I would have to strongly urge you to contact a local licensed professional to evaluate what you have & what you want to do. To paraphrase Ray's tag line: Safe gas piping is not something to be learned after the fire trucks have left.
 
  #10  
Old 01-16-15, 01:34 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Canada
Posts: 17
Thanks
Thats what I was going to do as you stated with 2 psi its doable but I have under 1 psi so its not. The gas company also mentioned that they could change the regulator to give me more pressure but thats not something I want to get into Ill call someone. Just thought if it was easy and I could feed both with the one line I would do it.
Thanks for your help
 
  #11  
Old 01-16-15, 01:42 PM
Grady's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Delaware, The First State
Posts: 13,928
Glad to help or at least try.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes