Locating flame sensor on RUUD gas furnace


  #1  
Old 01-20-15, 10:50 AM
M
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: usa
Posts: 6
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Question Locating flame sensor on RUUD gas furnace

Can anyone please help me with the problem I have on Rudd gas furnace model# UGDG-07NAMCR from 1990. Problem I'm having is after I set the thermostat in heat mode and set it at 73 wihile room temperature is 68, the inducer fan comes on for about 30 sec., then the glow-plug starts glowing for about 10sec., then the fire roars on all 3 burners, then the main blower run.

However, after 20-30 second while the main blower still running, The fire went out out. In another 10 sec. the glow plug starting to glow again , then the unit ignites again, then it repeats what it did at first for many times.
Eventually, after several attempts re-lite it itself, the furnace stopped working. So, I unplug and plug the ac-power to reset it, and it worked like at the first attempt.
From what Iíve been reading, the flame sensor might be the issue. However, I couldnít find the flame sensor on it.
On the right side, there is a glow-plug.
On the left side, there is a round-flat sensor with 2 wires, look like a button.
But there is no long skinny piece flame sensor with single wire.

Please let me know, where can I find the flame sensor on this unit. Or is the glow-plug also serve as a flame sensor?
And also, how do I attach a picture here?

Thank you.
Mike
 
  #2  
Old 01-20-15, 11:03 AM
Grady's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Delaware, The First State
Posts: 12,667
Received 39 Upvotes on 37 Posts
Hi Mike & welcome to the forums. Some furnaces used the ignitor as a flame sensor. Clear, well lit pictures are always a help. The best way to do pictures is to post them on a photo sharing site such as photobucket & provide a link to the album here.
 
  #3  
Old 01-20-15, 11:22 AM
M
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: usa
Posts: 6
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
So, I the problem on my RUUD furnace most likely due to faulty/dirty Glow plug? Or not enough airflow? or The Board?
Can I clean the igniter(Glow Plug)? Or does it need to be replaced? Thanks
 
  #4  
Old 01-20-15, 11:32 AM
Grady's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Delaware, The First State
Posts: 12,667
Received 39 Upvotes on 37 Posts
Pictures first please, Mike. Need shots of the burner area particularly the ignitor also of the control board (close enough we can see & read the terminals.
 
  #5  
Old 01-20-15, 11:45 AM
M
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: usa
Posts: 6
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Name:  flame2.jpg
Views: 11311
Size:  44.3 KB

Attached is the pic. Thank you
 
  #6  
Old 01-20-15, 12:12 PM
Grady's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Delaware, The First State
Posts: 12,667
Received 39 Upvotes on 37 Posts
It would appear your furnace uses the ignitor as the flame sensor. I will try to find a manual or wiring diagram but Rheem manuals are often difficult to locate. Is there a wiring diagram on the inside of the blower door? If so can you get a good picture of it?
 
  #7  
Old 01-20-15, 10:04 PM
M
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: usa
Posts: 6
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Name:  photo 2.jpg
Views: 5628
Size:  31.5 KB

Name:  photo 1.jpg
Views: 6037
Size:  32.2 KB

Attached is the wiring diagram and the gas valve. Thx
 
  #8  
Old 01-21-15, 07:31 AM
Grady's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Delaware, The First State
Posts: 12,667
Received 39 Upvotes on 37 Posts
Thanks mek. I can't read the diagram but it looks more like a troubleshooting guide than a wiring diagram.

At this point, I think I'd try a new ignitor.
 
  #9  
Old 01-21-15, 09:41 AM
M
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: usa
Posts: 6
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Yesterday morning and this morning, the heater did not work. Room temp=68, thermostat set to HEAT at 72.

So, I did turn the switch at the thermostat from HEAT to OFF, then to HEAT again yesterday morning and this morning., and the furnace was working once I did that.

I guess, the problem is the electrical. The thermostat was replaced in 2006.

Please let me know, if the problem is either the circuit board or the digital thermostat.

Thanks
Mike
 
  #10  
Old 01-21-15, 12:31 PM
Grady's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Delaware, The First State
Posts: 12,667
Received 39 Upvotes on 37 Posts
When you do what you did, you are resetting the contol board. The problem will come back.
 
  #11  
Old 01-21-15, 01:53 PM
M
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: usa
Posts: 6
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Yes, you're right. problem keep coming every morning I have to do that.

So, is that mean the furnace is locked out because the furnace keep trying to ignite due to the fail flame sensor?
OR
Is the circuit board defective?
OR
Is the thermostat defective?

Thank you

Mike
 
  #12  
Old 01-21-15, 03:49 PM
Grady's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Delaware, The First State
Posts: 12,667
Received 39 Upvotes on 37 Posts
I'm guessing but my best guess is ignitor. It's easy enough to eliminate the thermostat by removing it & connecting the wires from terminals R & W together. This takes the thermostat completely out of the picture. If it does the same thing as in your first post, I'd say the stat is not the problem.
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: