Aire Flo furnace-ignition problems


  #1  
Old 01-27-15, 02:10 PM
A
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2015
Posts: 6
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Aire Flo furnace-ignition problems

Have a question. I have an AeroFlo furnace. 3 years old. The ignition lit but the flames wont come on. I can hear the fan and motor running. The ignition lit and shuts off when no flames comes on. After the third time it lit on and no flame comes the system shuts down and I get the 7 red light blink "lockout due to ignition"

However, sometimes I shut down the main disconnect and turn it on again and sometimes it start working for a while. after it goes to stand by it wont turn again.

What Can I check? I tried using a sand paper on the stick flame sensor but still. Tried blowing the hoses but same. What else can I try or check?

Thanks!
 
  #2  
Old 01-27-15, 05:08 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 61,828
Received 1,473 Votes on 1,361 Posts
Welcome to the forums.

The ignition lit but the flames wont come on.
Are you telling us that the igniter is glowing but the furnace won't light or is there a pilot lighting first and then no main burner.

We may need the model number of your furnace to help as I'm not familiar with that brand.
 
  #3  
Old 01-27-15, 05:20 PM
A
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2015
Posts: 6
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
I'm sorry... I meant it's an Aire Flo... model 92AF
High-Efficiency Gas Furnaces. I'm not home right now but before I left I put fan in On position and it started working. But I know will start doing the same again. The ignition was lit but main burner never came on. It has 3 burners. Everything else seems to be running but when it is supposed to lit the burners it doesn't do anything and the ignition turns off. After a few seconds, like 30 second ignition comes on but burners wont. After 3 attempts from ignition it start giving the 7 flashing code and says "lockout due to no ignition"
 
  #4  
Old 01-27-15, 09:38 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 61,828
Received 1,473 Votes on 1,361 Posts
Just for your info....92AF is a furnace group. The model number is like 15 characters long.

The board will try to light the burner four times. After that it goes into a one hour lockout period and then it will try again.

You have one of three problems....
1) low gas pressure
2) intermittent wiring to gas valve
3) defective control board.

The draft inducer starts. Then the igniter glows for 20 seconds. At the end of 20 seconds the gas valve should open. You should hear a distinct click from the control board and or gas valve. If you don't hear the click that would point to a control board problem.

I would use a voltmeter to monitor the 24vac at the gas valve.
 
  #5  
Old 01-28-15, 07:25 PM
A
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2015
Posts: 6
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Sorry about the model. Well, I hear the distinct click from the control board. I did notice a big copper cable connected in one bolt on each end. One of them was kind of loose. I tighten that one yesterday. It was working yesterday and all day today. Now I'm at work and wife says it stopped working again. I don't have a voltmeter to monitor the gas valve. Guess I will end up calling a tech or try to tight that cable even more.

Edit: The copper cable is outside the box. Not sure if it's related.
 
  #6  
Old 01-28-15, 07:32 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 61,828
Received 1,473 Votes on 1,361 Posts
I'm not sure what wire you are seeing there. A picture would be great. http://www.doityourself.com/forum/el...rt-images.html
 
  #7  
Old 01-28-15, 07:36 PM
A
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2015
Posts: 6
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
I am at work now, will be all night but tomorrow I will take a picture of it and all the components and post it here. Thanks!
 
  #8  
Old 01-29-15, 11:22 AM
A
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2015
Posts: 6
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Name:  Screenshot_2015-01-29-13-17-58-1.jpg
Views: 5342
Size:  25.0 KB

maybe it has nothing to do with it. As I mentioned. Last night wasn'tworking. Went home and powered down the breaker. Closed and opened the gas lines and used sand paper on the flame sensor and started working again. Now it stopped again. Not sure if I can try something else or just call a tech.
 
  #9  
Old 01-29-15, 11:37 AM
Grady's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Delaware, The First State
Posts: 14,381
Received 35 Votes on 33 Posts
Angel, Do not use sand paper on the flame rod. It will scratch the surface of the rod & cause the rod to build up junk much faster. Use only steel wool or a scotch brite pad.
 
  #10  
Old 01-29-15, 11:42 AM
A
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2015
Posts: 6
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Thanks for the advice. Didn't know. Can that be the problem then?
 
  #11  
Old 01-29-15, 12:18 PM
Grady's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Delaware, The First State
Posts: 14,381
Received 35 Votes on 33 Posts
If you clean the flame rod & the furnace then works as it should for a while, it certainly sounds like a dirty flame rod problem.
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: