Oil Williamson Temp O Matic soot and continues running

Old 02-08-15, 10:48 AM
T
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Oil Williamson Temp O Matic soot and continues running

Greetings everyone,

I'm working on my furnace here today because I've noticed some sooty deposits in the house (and in my nose). I'm working today to clean the flue but wanted to run a couple things passed a second (multiple) set of eyes.

The furnace is in the home I just bought in November, so I'm still new to it.

In addition to to soot issue (a recent development, started about a week ago) I've noticed lately that when the thermostat "clicks" indicating it has reached the desired heat, (or if I turn it down myself to a temp below current) the furnace continues to run. I've timed that run to be about 10-12 minutes after the end of the call. I'm not sure if this is intended function or not.

Thanks for any help or advice on this. I want to try and clean it up real well and troubleshoot it as best I can. I'm not completely against having to call someone if I need to, but I prefer to do things as far as I can myself.

Side note, I do have CO monitors in the house, and I tested the main one to day just to verify they do what they're suppose to.

Old 02-08-15, 01:02 PM
T
I think i may have found part of my issue

That's looking into the flue to chimney area. I pulled the rest of the ducting down and out of the way. I have been cleaning that out and pulling huge chunks of what looks like clay out. I'm suspecting the liner of the chimney isn't too happy.

I'll post an after once I'm done, but I've managed to fill my shop vac with the crap in there and don't have another bag yet. I may have to resort to scooping it all out with a garden shovel.

Old 02-08-15, 01:04 PM
F
Received 37 Likes on 29 Posts
Side note, I do have CO monitors in the house, and I tested the main one to day just to verify they do what they're suppose to.