Arcoaire ignitor

Reply

  #1  
Old 12-28-15, 05:03 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2015
Posts: 9
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Arcoaire ignitor

Hey guys new to the forum I'm having trouble with the igniter on my arcoaire furnace it is a sleeker that only has 1 wire question is does anyone know how many volts it takes to make it spark
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 12-28-15, 05:30 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 52,627
Received 339 Votes on 317 Posts
Welcome to the forums.

I read your post twice.... sleeker ?

I'm assuming you are asking about the spark ignition system for the pilot light ?
At least several thousand volts and up to 10kv.
 
  #3  
Old 12-28-15, 06:58 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2015
Posts: 9
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Yeah I meant igniter I'm getting 104 volts at the sparker
 
  #4  
Old 12-28-15, 07:06 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 52,627
Received 339 Votes on 317 Posts
You're trying to stump the expert.... right ?

You have an igniter..... hot surface ignition..... glows white hot OR
you have an actual spark ignited pilot system like a car spark plug ?

An igniter glows it doesn't spark.
 
  #5  
Old 12-28-15, 07:30 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2015
Posts: 9
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Sorry about terminology I'm a sign guy , installer and service it's a sparker it is different than any I've seen before it is just one rod looks like a flame sensor but it sets in the pilot light hood the parts guy said it was a sparker
 
  #6  
Old 12-28-15, 08:52 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 52,627
Received 339 Votes on 317 Posts
Ok.... that means you have an intermittent ignition furnace where the pilot is lit by a spark. You cannot measure the spark voltage or you'll damage your meter.

What kind of problem are you having ?
Is the pilot not lighting at all ?
Is the pilot lighting and then going out ?
Is the pilot lighting, the main burner lights and then everything shuts down ?
 
  #7  
Old 12-29-15, 11:21 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2015
Posts: 9
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Pilot will not light regular but will light with a match
 
  #8  
Old 12-29-15, 11:44 AM
SeattlePioneer's Avatar
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Seattle, Wa
Posts: 5,503
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Take the cover off the burner compaertment of the furnace.

Find the rating plate in the burner compartment and post the make of the furnace listed there.
 
  #9  
Old 12-30-15, 10:23 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2015
Posts: 9
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
International comfort products model fbfo75b12g1
 
  #10  
Old 12-31-15, 08:09 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2015
Posts: 9
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Is there a transformer in the control board that gives the sparker the necessary voltage to spark
 
  #11  
Old 12-31-15, 11:39 AM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 52,627
Received 339 Votes on 317 Posts
It's not exactly a high voltage transformer. The circuit is electronic and generates the high voltage thru a switching circuit.

The spark section is not repairable.... it would require the board to be replaced.
 
  #12  
Old 12-31-15, 12:11 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2015
Posts: 9
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Would it be the circuit board or the ignition control
 
  #13  
Old 12-31-15, 09:38 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 52,627
Received 339 Votes on 317 Posts
The ignition control is controlled from the circuit board. There shouldn't be two separate devices.
 
  #14  
Old 01-01-16, 07:12 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2015
Posts: 9
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
In the lower part of the furnace( by the squirrel cage is a circuit board up by the burners is an ignition controller that the sparker and gas valves are wired to
 
  #15  
Old 01-01-16, 09:05 AM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 52,627
Received 339 Votes on 317 Posts
I am not able to locate a service manual or much of any information for your furnace.
Pictures of what you have would be helpful. http://www.doityourself.com/forum/el...-pictures.html
Parts numbers on the controls would also be helpful.

If your furnace uses two separate modules it must be fairly old.
 
  #16  
Old 01-01-16, 09:48 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2015
Posts: 9
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Changed the igniter controller still didn't work read and reread manual finally got a magnifying glass and found I had to add a call for heat jumper to new module working great that was a little frustrating with the print that small!
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: