Furnace burner keeps cutting out

Old 01-15-16, 10:37 AM
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Furnace burner keeps cutting out

Hey everyone. Im new to the forum and would like to start out by saying hi and am happy to be a new member. That being said i need some help.

Im having trouble with my furnace. My furnace is Lennox 80MFG2-75A-6
So what happens is the furnace will start it will do its prepurge, than the igniter will start and all the burners will light. The furnace will run for about 5 minutes putting out good heat (i would consider it good i'm new to this house) and than the furnace will trip. The fan will continue to run and eventually the furnace will start up again tripping after about 5 minutes again.

Things i inspected

1) Flame rod - thought maybe the flame rod was dirty and it wasnt getting a good milivolt signal so the gas valve would trip. I cleaned it with some sand paper and its nice and clean

2) The filter is a cleanable filter i took it out and cleaned it really good, also tried running without a filter.. Thought maybe there was some bad airflow.

3) Which brings me to what i think the problem is. I'm pretty sure the limit switch on my heat box is getting too hot and cutting out the furnace. I cleaned the filter, i made sure all of my registers were open, i inspected my A-frame H/E(it was clean) I also looked at the setting on the circuit board and i see the fan is running at speed 2 out of a maximum of speed 3. I did all this to ensure there was enough air flow to keep the limit from getting too hot. I hooked up a multimeter and the highlmit does cut out. Is it possible im still not getting enough air flow and its still getting too hot? or could it be a bad limit? When i touch the heat box it is too hot too touch, as well as the exhaust ducting at the furnace and even on the roof the exhaust ducting is hot.

Thanks in advance

Jesse

Sponsored Links
Old 01-15-16, 11:42 AM
Received 12 Votes on 11 Posts