Rheem gas furnace won't ignite

Old 01-23-16, 06:00 PM
D
Upvotes: 0
Received 3 Upvotes on 3 Posts
Rheem gas furnace won't ignite

Replaced furnace about 2.5 years ago with a Rheam high efficiency direct vent unit as part of a state energy reduction program. About an hour ago I felt cold, and thermostat says "call for service" and flashing across the screen says "check furnace". I am a CPA, so to me, my furnace looks fine... I turn off power switch to furnace and turn it back on, and after a minute or so it sounds like it's getting ready to ignite. I believe the fan kicks on first, and once running, the furnace will ignite. I hear the blowers, actually sounds like a jet engine, progressively getting louder, for about a minute, then it clicks off.

Coincidentally, or not, we are in the middle of a blizzard in central NJ, about 2 feet of snow, and drifts are over 3 feet. I read yesterday on FB that it is important to keep the lower portion of the gas meter unobstructed, not sure if it is a safety vent/valve. So first thing I thought of is maybe meter is obstructed, and a safety switch is kicking off gas and furnace. However... Hot water heater is working just fine. I checked meter and it was totally buried in snow, so I cleaned it off. I also checked the direct vent outside the house, but that was clear. Still not firing. Any suggestions? getting close to 60 in the house, and not sure if anyone will be able to make it out tomorrow, as we are still under state of emergency.

I will update post with model# shortly if that will help. (Update: Model# RE50660C210B2722AP)And for the first 13 years since house was built, never had a single problem with original HVAC.
Thanks!

Last edited by daronson; 01-23-16 at 06:23 PM.
Old 01-23-16, 06:31 PM
Group Moderator
Received 3,950 Upvotes on 3,543 Posts
Welcome to the forums.

Coincidentally I'm in the same blizzard.