York Diamond 80 Fan Noise and 10 Red Flashes


  #1  
Old 12-28-16, 08:37 AM
F
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2016
Posts: 36
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
York Diamond 80 Fan Noise and 10 Red Flashes

I replaced my blower motor 11 months ago due the original one of 15 years began to make a lot of noise. The replacement shaft had about 1/8" to 1/4" play in it but the squirrel cage wasn't rubbing. Got up this morning to a chilly house and my inducer blower is running but the blower isn't. I now have 10 red flashes on my IFC. This code is "Gas Flow but no call for heat" I have a new blower motor coming from Repair Clinic but do I now have another issue?
 

Last edited by Firering; 12-28-16 at 09:44 AM.
  #2  
Old 12-28-16, 12:21 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Jersey
Posts: 65,668
Received 4,094 Upvotes on 3,677 Posts
Gas Flow but no call for heat
That would mean the burner was actual burning and the board was not telling it to be lit.
That's a pretty rare code to see.

I'm going to need the full model number for your furnace as I don't see a 10 flash fault listed.
 
  #3  
Old 12-28-16, 12:33 PM
S
Member
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: USA
Posts: 1,771
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
The blower motor would not have any to do with the code you are getting. The control board probably has the blower locked out. Did you turn the fan switch to ON at the stat? To see if the blower would run?

The flame sensor or control board might be bad.
 
  #4  
Old 12-28-16, 12:49 PM
F
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2016
Posts: 36
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Update- I found a roll out switch had tripped. I reset it and fired up the unit and everything works properly. When the blower motor kicks on I'm getting a very loud noise from the cage. I pulled it out and the center hub that is attached to the blades was completely spinning free. Let me clarify, the hub to the motor shaft is tight but the hub has lost hold of all the blades. I suspect that the squirrel cage was getting a lot of vibration and began to make it fail. I'll order a new cage but what would have caused this to fail? I replace the blower motor less than 1yr ago and the shaft has about the same amount of play that my old motor had which I still have. I wonder if the noise I heard a year ago was the same cage sound but wasn't completely broken loose. I suspect the new cage will be balanced right?

Thoughts? I appreciate all the help the GM's and members have provided.
 
  #5  
Old 12-28-16, 02:51 PM
S
Member
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: USA
Posts: 1,771
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
I've seen those hub's fail a few times, not much you can do about it. The new blades will be balanced.
 
  #6  
Old 12-28-16, 03:02 PM
F
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2016
Posts: 36
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Thanks Skaggsje! I suppose that the initial start up puts a lot of torque on the hub and it may have started slipping over time and then began to completely spin free. The limit switch must have been tripped due to the lack of proper airflow.
 
  #7  
Old 12-30-16, 07:32 AM
F
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2016
Posts: 36
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Installed the new cage yesterday and everything is working properly. Thanks for the help and input. I hope I don't work on this again for a long time.
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: