what is this switch?


  #1  
Old 12-30-16, 11:03 AM
B
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2016
Location: Canada
Posts: 6
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
what is this switch?

wondering what the toggle switch is for?
 
Attached Images  
  #2  
Old 12-30-16, 11:09 AM
B
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2016
Location: Canada
Posts: 6
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
It's in the Carrier Weathermaker Infinity Model.
 
  #3  
Old 12-30-16, 11:51 AM
Luana's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: United States
Posts: 135
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
It is to turn the gas valve off, normally left in the on position.

Why? I have no idea, maybe for some service function. They are fairly common.
 
  #4  
Old 12-30-16, 12:00 PM
B
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2016
Location: Canada
Posts: 6
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
thanks, it seemed so obvious but when I removed the cover, it was in the off position. The furnace was working erractically. I flicked it to the on position, but now getting error code 34. All filters have been cleaned, trying to get the ignitor sensor out to clean but that's proving to be a problem.
 
  #5  
Old 12-30-16, 12:06 PM
B
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2016
Location: Canada
Posts: 6
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Someone else just said it is for the fan. Plus, the furnace was working when it was in the off position. *sigh*
 
  #6  
Old 12-30-16, 12:20 PM
S
Member
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: USA
Posts: 1,771
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Don't clean the ignitor. If your talking about the flame sensor that's OK.
 
  #7  
Old 12-30-16, 12:36 PM
R
Member
Join Date: Oct 2016
Posts: 2,183
Received 199 Upvotes on 181 Posts
The one on the gas valve?
It's to turn the gas valve on/off
 
  #8  
Old 12-30-16, 12:46 PM
B
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2016
Location: Canada
Posts: 6
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
weird the furnace was actually working when it was in the off position. Whatever, it's in the on position now. If it's for gas, then *duh* and if it's for the fan, it can't hurt.
 
  #9  
Old 12-30-16, 01:33 PM
S
Member
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: USA
Posts: 1,771
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
That switch has nothing to do with the fan.
 
  #10  
Old 12-30-16, 02:19 PM
B
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2016
Location: Canada
Posts: 6
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Thanks skaggsje.....I still can't figure out how the furnace WAS working with the switch in the off position. Last time this happened, a couple of years back, the blower needed replacing. Maybe it's time for a new furnace, it's pretty old.
 
  #11  
Old 12-30-16, 02:43 PM
S
Member
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: USA
Posts: 1,771
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Agreed, can't figure that one out either. If you post the serial number we can tell how old it is. Are getting any flames when it tries to start?

BTW, is this a heat pump system?
 

Last edited by skaggsje; 12-30-16 at 02:45 PM. Reason: added
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: