what is this switch?

Reply

  #1  
Old 12-30-16, 11:03 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2016
Location: Canada
Posts: 6
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
what is this switch?

wondering what the toggle switch is for?
 
Attached Images  
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 12-30-16, 11:09 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2016
Location: Canada
Posts: 6
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
It's in the Carrier Weathermaker Infinity Model.
 
  #3  
Old 12-30-16, 11:51 AM
Luana's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: United States
Posts: 147
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
It is to turn the gas valve off, normally left in the on position.

Why? I have no idea, maybe for some service function. They are fairly common.
 
  #4  
Old 12-30-16, 12:00 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2016
Location: Canada
Posts: 6
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
thanks, it seemed so obvious but when I removed the cover, it was in the off position. The furnace was working erractically. I flicked it to the on position, but now getting error code 34. All filters have been cleaned, trying to get the ignitor sensor out to clean but that's proving to be a problem.
 
  #5  
Old 12-30-16, 12:06 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2016
Location: Canada
Posts: 6
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Someone else just said it is for the fan. Plus, the furnace was working when it was in the off position. *sigh*
 
  #6  
Old 12-30-16, 12:20 PM
Member
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: USA
Posts: 2,104
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Don't clean the ignitor. If your talking about the flame sensor that's OK.
 
  #7  
Old 12-30-16, 12:36 PM
Member
Join Date: Oct 2016
Posts: 1,317
Received 33 Votes on 30 Posts
The one on the gas valve?
It's to turn the gas valve on/off
 
  #8  
Old 12-30-16, 12:46 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2016
Location: Canada
Posts: 6
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
weird the furnace was actually working when it was in the off position. Whatever, it's in the on position now. If it's for gas, then *duh* and if it's for the fan, it can't hurt.
 
  #9  
Old 12-30-16, 01:33 PM
Member
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: USA
Posts: 2,104
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
That switch has nothing to do with the fan.
 
  #10  
Old 12-30-16, 02:19 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2016
Location: Canada
Posts: 6
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Thanks skaggsje.....I still can't figure out how the furnace WAS working with the switch in the off position. Last time this happened, a couple of years back, the blower needed replacing. Maybe it's time for a new furnace, it's pretty old.
 
  #11  
Old 12-30-16, 02:43 PM
Member
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: USA
Posts: 2,104
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Agreed, can't figure that one out either. If you post the serial number we can tell how old it is. Are getting any flames when it tries to start?

BTW, is this a heat pump system?
 

Last edited by skaggsje; 12-30-16 at 02:45 PM. Reason: added
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: