York furnace not working

Reply

  #1  
Old 01-02-17, 03:18 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2017
Location: United States
Posts: 3
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
York furnace not working

Hello all. I'm brandy new here and have a problem I hope I can get some advise on. I have a York furnace thats not working. It's a "York 90" and is our main zone and it's installed in the basement. It's the original equipment installed when we built our home January of 2003. The draft inducer kicks on but the blower for the heat does not. I messed with the hose from the pressure switch and got it to work. I set the thermostat for 68, it was 58 in the house this morning, and it heated up as normal until it hit 66 and then it stopped working. The draft inducer stayed on though. I turned off the emergency switch next to the furnace for a few minutes, made sure the hose on the pressure sensor was secure and it fired up again, only to shut itself down at 66 degrees again. Any ideas?
On a side note I can turn the fan on and off for the furnace via the thermostat in the dining room.

Sorry for the book, just wanted to describe exactly what's happening.

Thanks

Bob
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 01-02-17, 03:38 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2017
Location: United States
Posts: 3
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
I should add the red light inside of the cover flashed 3 times, indicating an open pressure switch.
 
  #3  
Old 01-02-17, 04:22 PM
Member
Join Date: Oct 2016
Posts: 1,435
Received 36 Votes on 33 Posts
Check venting for obstructions. If clear check draft on inducer with a manometer.
 
  #4  
Old 01-02-17, 05:03 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 53,245
Received 380 Votes on 357 Posts
Welcome to the forums.

Also pull the hose off the inducer blower and make sure the little tiny orifice is clean.

Name:  DI nipple.jpg
Views: 67
Size:  4.8 KB
 
  #5  
Old 01-03-17, 01:52 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2017
Location: United States
Posts: 3
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Thanks for all of the suggestions. I appreciate it. It turned out to be the pressure switch.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: