Propane Tank Gauge Wonkie ??

Reply

  #1  
Old 01-05-17, 08:07 AM
NorPlan's Avatar
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Canada
Posts: 41
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Propane Tank Gauge Wonkie ??

We have 2 / 420 lb. Propane Tanks that Fuel the Furnace.. Last Dec. 21 / 16 was the First Top Up of the Season, @ that time (One) Gauge read 83% the (Other) I couldn't find the Needle ?? Now Today First Tank the Gauge reads 70%.. Was thinking 2nd Tank the Needle would show itself,(Nope).. Could it be Stuck or has the Gauge gone Faulty ??
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 01-05-17, 10:47 AM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 57,814
Received 938 Votes on 875 Posts
It could be stuck which means it is faulty.

Are those company owned tanks ? They are responsible for the maintenance on them.
 
  #3  
Old 01-05-17, 11:48 AM
P
Group Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: NC, USA
Posts: 23,064
Received 535 Votes on 492 Posts
Are you able to shut off one tank and run your furnace off the other? Replacing the gauge is best done when the tank is empty so they don't waste/dump what's in the tank. If the gauge will be replaced try to have the tank run down to empty for the repair.
 
  #4  
Old 01-08-17, 02:42 PM
Grady's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Delaware, The First State
Posts: 14,247
Received 23 Votes on 21 Posts
If the tanks are supplier owned, they will likely just swap out the tank but be prepared for a run around. Most companies will tell you if both valves are open the contents are the same & one gauge is fine.
 
  #5  
Old 01-08-17, 07:19 PM
GregH's Avatar
Super Moderator
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Manitoba
Posts: 10,128
Received 35 Votes on 33 Posts
What does the gauge look like?



Variations of the above gauge are what is used in my area and they are held in place with the two smaller screws.
The indicating part of this type of gauge is not under tank pressure.
There is a magnet inside the tank that makes the needle move and the indicator is held in place with the two smaller screws.

Perhaps just the gauge portion is stuck or defective.
You can sometimes remove the magnetic type indicatorand shake it to loosen the needle.
 
Reply
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: