Condensate pump running pretty constant

Reply

  #1  
Old 01-07-17, 04:42 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Canada
Posts: 37
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Condensate pump running pretty constant

Hi guys, I have no idea about furnaces or components so any help would be appreciated.

I have a Beckett condensate pump hardwired right into our 4 -yr-old Trane gas furnace.For the past few weeks, the pump runs noisy and continuously. I do not know what this means, but sometimes if I apply pressure to the top of the pump, it shuts off. If I raise the float, it shuts off, which confuses me because shouldn't it turn on if the float raises, meaning the water is high and should be drained from the pan?

Thanks in advance.
Andrew
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 01-07-17, 06:11 PM
Member
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: United States
Posts: 2,698
Received 11 Votes on 11 Posts
When you say condensate pump I'm assuming you have central air which is what it would be for. Since it is winter why not just disconnect it for now.
 
  #3  
Old 01-07-17, 06:41 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Canada
Posts: 37
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
I think it is also hooked up to my humidifier on the furnace.
 
  #4  
Old 01-07-17, 07:13 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 52,531
Received 330 Votes on 308 Posts
It sounds like it's time to replace the pump. They aren't very expensive and they get crudded up from the minerals in the humidifier drain.
 
  #5  
Old 01-08-17, 07:38 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Canada
Posts: 37
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Thanks PJ, I had a feeling this was the route to take. Any idea of how hard it is to hard wire into the furnace? Thanks.
 
  #6  
Old 01-08-17, 09:49 AM
Member
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: United States
Posts: 2,698
Received 11 Votes on 11 Posts
For informational purpose only, humidifier when connected to the furnace is 24V and condensate pump is line voltage (110V). Sometime the pump is just plugged into an outlet and works off a float. A humidifier works off a 24V humidistat.
 
  #7  
Old 01-08-17, 10:15 AM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 52,531
Received 330 Votes on 308 Posts
By "hooked up to my humidifier" I think he meant the drain line..... not electrically.

Condensate pumps come with a cord and plug.
Hopefully the plug wasn't cut off of yours for hardwiring.
 
  #8  
Old 01-08-17, 11:19 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Canada
Posts: 37
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Thanks. It actually does look like it's plugged into the furnace, don't see it in an outlet anywhere.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: