Oil furnace help please.


  #1  
Old 01-11-17, 09:21 PM
S
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2017
Posts: 4
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Oil furnace help please.

Ok so I bought a oil oil furnace got it home and hooked it up. I installed a plug so I could just plug it in the wall. As soon as I plug it in the wall with the t-stat off the pump kicks on. I let it run for ten min but the blower will not turn on. If I switch the t-stat to off it continues to run anyway. I was a little unsure of where to put my wires so I assume that this is my problem
Here is a pic of the wires where should I hook my white and black wire

http://i1309.photobucket.com/albums/...ps3fekjhxg.jpg
Name:  IMG_0580_zps3fekjhxg.jpg~original.jpg
Views: 273
Size:  38.0 KB


Thanks in advance for your help
 

Last edited by PJmax; 01-12-17 at 07:32 PM. Reason: added pic from link
  #2  
Old 01-12-17, 06:56 PM
Grady's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Delaware, The First State
Posts: 12,682
Received 41 Upvotes on 39 Posts
That is one OLD burner. To my knowledge, nobody has made a burner with a pump on the right side in close to 50 years.
Without a wiring diagram or knowing where all those wires go, I can't begin to tell you how to wire it. I do know that all of those connections should be inside a box.
That oil line to the pump looks like aluminum with a compression fitting. Oil fuel lines should be copper with flare fittings. The vibration from the burner will soon crack the aluminum.
 
  #3  
Old 01-12-17, 07:20 PM
S
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2017
Posts: 4
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Yes she's old lol. The fuel line is steel. The previous owner used it with out an issue. The wires all go in a box but I pulled them out. I've looked for a wire schematic but can't seem to find one. The make is a duo-dm-matic. It was made in Waterford Ontario.
 
  #4  
Old 01-12-17, 07:27 PM
Grady's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Delaware, The First State
Posts: 12,682
Received 41 Upvotes on 39 Posts
If you can find an old timer service guy in your area, I suggest you get him to look at it. I can't remember who bought Duo-Therm but it's extremely doubtful you are going to find a wiring diagram. Someone is going to have to trace the wires thru the various controls to figure out how it is supposed to be wired.
 
  #5  
Old 01-12-17, 07:36 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Jersey
Posts: 65,688
Received 4,101 Upvotes on 3,683 Posts
Your power wire should go to a single wire..... usually black.
Were there any single wires not connected ?

There will probably be several whites together for neutral. You should be able to follow the blower wiring to there. There would be a neutral on the blower motor.
 
  #6  
Old 01-12-17, 07:59 PM
S
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2017
Posts: 4
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Thanks for the replies guys. There were no single wires.

I did find a guy that says he can help me out. Will see lol. He says he can come out Monday of so. Will keep you posted
 
  #7  
Old 01-12-17, 08:21 PM
R
Member
Join Date: Oct 2016
Posts: 2,183
Received 199 Upvotes on 181 Posts
Not to get way off topic but that's a really old unit. Is this for your home? Has someone checked to make sure the heat exchanger is ok?
 
  #8  
Old 01-12-17, 08:38 PM
S
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2017
Posts: 4
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
It's for my garage and someone will be coming out to have a look at it
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: