Flue Damper


  #1  
Old 02-10-17, 09:46 AM
P
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: st pete florida
Posts: 227
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Flue Damper

its flapping open and closed during heater use. Why?
 
  #2  
Old 02-10-17, 10:09 AM
P
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: st pete florida
Posts: 227
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
It never did before.

The message you have entered is too short. Please lengthen your message to at least 25 characters.
 
  #3  
Old 02-10-17, 10:43 AM
P
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: st pete florida
Posts: 227
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
it is not steady. it keeps pushing open and closing again.
 
  #4  
Old 02-10-17, 11:08 AM
S
Member
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: USA
Posts: 2,101
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Are you talking about a boiler, Post the model number.
 
  #5  
Old 02-10-17, 11:17 AM
P
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: st pete florida
Posts: 227
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
furnace.

The message you have entered is too short. Please lengthen your message to at least 25 characters.
 
  #6  
Old 02-10-17, 12:03 PM
R
Member
Join Date: Oct 2016
Posts: 2,142
Received 120 Votes on 114 Posts
What equipment are we speaking about here? Is the motor getting consistent power?
 
  #7  
Old 02-11-17, 08:34 PM
P
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: st pete florida
Posts: 227
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
four pics: Imgur: The most awesome images on the Internet
Name:  d1.jpg
Views: 171
Size:  47.1 KB

Name:  d2.jpg
Views: 181
Size:  41.7 KB
 

Last edited by PJmax; 02-24-17 at 08:02 PM. Reason: added pics from link
  #8  
Old 02-11-17, 08:48 PM
R
Member
Join Date: Oct 2016
Posts: 2,142
Received 120 Votes on 114 Posts
That's not a flue damper, it's a barametric damper to control draft. It's also missing it's adjustment weight.
Is this an oil burner?
The damper needs to be in place and correctly set to operate the burner. Too little draft and you'll burn up the burner head. Too much and you'll suck all the heat out of the furnace.
 
  #9  
Old 02-24-17, 11:07 AM
P
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: st pete florida
Posts: 227
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
looking for a way to adj damper w/o purchased gauge. maybe here https://www.hearth.com/talk/threads/...-damper.32086/
 
  #10  
Old 02-24-17, 08:04 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 62,199
Received 1,531 Votes on 1,414 Posts
There isn't away to just arbitrarily set it. It needs to be professionally done.
Might be a good time to have you heating system checked out too.
 
  #11  
Old 02-24-17, 08:38 PM
R
Member
Join Date: Oct 2016
Posts: 2,142
Received 120 Votes on 114 Posts
You'll need to purchase the correct tools to measure draft and set the damper.
However, as I've already said, you can't set that damper as it's missing the weight. Did you remove it?
Do not run the furnace without that damper in place.
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: