Furnace Transformer

Reply

  #1  
Old 10-01-17, 01:42 PM
G
Gen
Gen is offline
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: US
Posts: 500
Received 3 Votes on 2 Posts
Furnace Transformer

I have an old Carrie furnace circa 1997. The circuit board was recently replaced, and when I looked I noticed the wire on the transformer--not bad, but a little brittle. One of the primary wire insertion points into the trans looked like it was a little melted.

Do transformers generally go bad? If so, would it be worth it to replace it before it's 10 degrees outside?
 
  #2  
Old 10-01-17, 01:52 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 61,408
Received 1,404 Votes on 1,299 Posts
No...transformers don't usually go bad unless short circuited.
The wiring rarely shows any sign of aging. Cracking can occur if the wire is directly in a heat path.

Transformers are inexpensive and sold everywhere. Always good to have a spare around.
120vac -> 24vac at 40va.
 
  #3  
Old 10-01-17, 01:52 PM
D
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Join Date: Sep 2017
Location: USA
Posts: 516
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Do you have a multi meter to test the power? A visual inspection isn't enough.
 
  #4  
Old 10-01-17, 02:03 PM
G
Gen
Gen is offline
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: US
Posts: 500
Received 3 Votes on 2 Posts
Do I have to replace with a trans that is generic/part number matched to the furnace? Or can I just get a 24v-40va unit and go from there?

I will consider checking the output, though at present everything--heat cool and fan works fine.

PS How do I enlarge the DIY forum font? I'm typing incredibly small characters.
 
  #5  
Old 10-01-17, 02:09 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 61,408
Received 1,404 Votes on 1,299 Posts
Your system is working...your transformer is working.
You can use ANY 120v-24v transformer.

If you have the box outlined in the diagram below.
Clicking on it will increase only the text edit size.
The up and down arrows change the box size.
 
Attached Images  
  #6  
Old 10-02-17, 07:51 PM
G
Gen
Gen is offline
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: US
Posts: 500
Received 3 Votes on 2 Posts
Trans measures a bit over 27 volts. Is that OK?
 
  #7  
Old 10-02-17, 07:54 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 61,408
Received 1,404 Votes on 1,299 Posts
Yes..... that is ok. There is probably minimal load on it.
It will come down some when loaded.
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: