Welcome to the DoItYourself Forums!

To post questions, help other DIYers and reduce advertising (like the one on your left), join our DIY community. It's free!

Goodman GMH80703ANAB - 1 Blink


gymclasshero25's Avatar
Member

Join Date: Oct 2017
Posts: 7

10-12-17, 07:14 AM   #1 (permalink)  
Goodman GMH80703ANAB - 1 Blink

Blower starts, igniter turns on, but there is no flame. Tries three times and then starts the 1 blink error light. I've tried clearing the condensation hose of any clogging, I cleaned the flame sensor(even though I was pretty sure that was not the issue), and I tried tapping on the gas valve to see if maybe that was stuck and it might kick in. Thoughts?<br />
<br />
I think my next step is to pull the plug on the gas valve and put a voltmeter to it.

EDIT: I tried uploading a short video from my phone but it doesn't seem to be working....


Last edited by gymclasshero25; 10-12-17 at 07:33 AM.
 
Sponsored Links
skaggsje's Avatar
Member

Join Date: Feb 2014
Posts: 1,881
MO

10-12-17, 08:20 AM   #2 (permalink)  
Trace the brown wire from the gas valve to the limit switch and see if you have voltage ( 24 vac ).

 
Muggle's Avatar
Member

Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 1,640
Non-US

10-12-17, 09:00 AM   #3 (permalink)  
error code info -https://www.manualslib.com/manual/742338/Goodman-Gmh95.html?page=42

furnace shouldn't try to light if it had anything to do with limit switch.

Do make sure there's gas to the furnace and check voltage to gas valve. voltage should be applied after igniter warmup period.

You can probably prob the connector from above, sticking the leads into the top of the molex connector.

 
gymclasshero25's Avatar
Member

Join Date: Oct 2017
Posts: 7

10-12-17, 09:10 AM   #4 (permalink)  
I know I have gas to the furnace.

If there is voltage coming to the valve then I have a bad valve? And if there is no voltage coming to the valve then something is wrong in the wiring or the board? Is that correct?

 
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator

Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 38,114
NJ

10-12-17, 10:16 AM   #5 (permalink)  
Welcome to the forums.

You cannot load a video here. It needs to be hosted at a site like youtube and linked here.

Yes...you are correct.
You need to check power to the valve with it connected.


~ Pete ~

 
gymclasshero25's Avatar
Member

Join Date: Oct 2017
Posts: 7

10-19-17, 04:40 PM   #6 (permalink)  
Getting one blink on my Goodman furnace. Igniter turns on but no gas comes out, tries to fire three times and then starts the one blink error light.

I tested for voltage to the valve and there was good voltage coming when the igniter turned on. So I figured I had a bad valve. I just bought and installed a new valve and I have the same problem.

Any thoughts on what might be wrong and what I might check next?

 
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator

Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 38,114
NJ

10-19-17, 04:45 PM   #7 (permalink)  
Your original thread was there. Joined two threads.

There should be no voltage to the gas valve until just before ignition. Usually the igniter needs to heat up for 15-45 seconds..... you'll hear a click.... the gas valve gets power..... if no ignition in approx 7 seconds the igniter will shut off and power will be removed from the valve.


~ Pete ~

 
gymclasshero25's Avatar
Member

Join Date: Oct 2017
Posts: 7

10-19-17, 04:50 PM   #8 (permalink)  
I can definitely hear the click after the igniter has been on for about 15 seconds but no gas comes out so the igniter shuts off.

 
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator

Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 38,114
NJ

10-19-17, 04:56 PM   #9 (permalink)  
In the link below is the wiring diagram. An aux safety is shown in the brown wire to the gas valve. For ignition you need 24v power on that line and the C terminal is the blue wire.

hvac/media/manuals/specification/GOODMANGMH8.pdf


~ Pete ~

 
Astuff's Avatar
Member

Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 679
PA

10-19-17, 05:30 PM   #10 (permalink)  
Did you follow skaggsje's checks? That furnace has a two stage gas valve so three wires: common, medium, and high. Verify you have voltage between common and medium as well as common and high for ignition. If no power on medium then check the limit aux switch switch mounted to the blower cage.

 
gymclasshero25's Avatar
Member

Join Date: Oct 2017
Posts: 7

10-19-17, 06:28 PM   #11 (permalink)  
I followed the brown wires and there is power going to the limit switch.

 
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator

Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 38,114
NJ

10-19-17, 08:02 PM   #12 (permalink)  
That brown wire is only one half of the circuit. You need to check for voltage on both sides of the switch to Common or ground. The blue wire on the valve is C.


~ Pete ~

 
gymclasshero25's Avatar
Member

Join Date: Oct 2017
Posts: 7

10-19-17, 08:06 PM   #13 (permalink)  
To me it looks like two brown wires and a blue wire come off the valve.

 
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator

Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 38,114
NJ

10-19-17, 08:19 PM   #14 (permalink)  
I can only go by the manual. It shows.....
1 - PM - brown and goes to the limit switch.
2 - HI - white and goes to pin 12 on the 12 pin plug.
3 - C - blue and goes to pin 9 on the 12 pin plug.

By the way... remove that 12 pin plug from the board several times as those pins can become corroded. A little contact cleaner on the pins is helpful too.


~ Pete ~

 
gymclasshero25's Avatar
Member

Join Date: Oct 2017
Posts: 7

Yesterday, 08:45 AM   #15 (permalink)  
There is definitely not a white wire. I'll try to figure out which one of the brown wires goes to the 12 pin plug.

When I tested the valve connector for voltage, there was voltage when I probed the C and the HI (I believe). Should there be voltage coming when I probe the C and the PM also?

 
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator

Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 38,114
NJ

Yesterday, 06:29 PM   #16 (permalink)  
There should only be power when the burner is told to light.
There cannot be always live power as the gas valve would stay open.


~ Pete ~

 
Search this Thread