Winchester furnace not working right,

Reply

  #1  
Old 10-28-17, 04:55 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2017
Posts: 2
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Winchester furnace not working right,

I have a Winchester ac/Furnace that isn't working properly. For some reason it decides to work when it wants to and now that its freezing out, it don't want to work right..smh It will come on, I can hear it light up but then all of sudden it will blow cold air instead of hot! It will do this for as long as the house isn't at the set temperature, well if its blowing cold its only making it colder not warmer! Here's the catch it'll work and heat up working normally but only when it wants to, which last couple days has been very minimal and not at all during the night..smh I tried watching the light that flickers after multiple attempts at reset at actual furnace and thermostat, it does come on one green flash at start, then a red delayed blink, then when its supposed to release heat it does a rapid flash of red 7 times. Ugh does anyone have any idea what it means and/or what I can try to do to get it to work? And why does the blower stay on blowing cold air? Any help is greatly appreciated, I live in Michigan also so yea its in the 30's right now
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 10-28-17, 05:40 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 52,689
Received 343 Votes on 321 Posts
Welcome to the forums.

I believe Winchester is a lower end York unit used in a manufactured home. I am not familiar with the units and will require a model number. You need to remove the service door over the burner. The model number will be posted on the side wall near the burner.

A York 7 flash code is failure to maintain flame. That could be caused by a dirty flame sensor rod.
 
  #3  
Old 10-29-17, 06:41 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2017
Posts: 2
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
I took off panel last night turn off gas and basically gave it couple good blows n gentle wipes to get off dust but was little leary cause there's alot wires..I turned all back on pilot lit n it did the same thing but I turned thermostat down lower than temp n when it kicked on it started working( then I turned up setting once it was kicking heat) and basically has been since, with couple of exceptions.Thank you for your reply. If this is furnace for manufactured home then its definitely not the right one for this house cause it's no trailer and also has limited vents one section of house has zero vents! Lol smh
 
  #4  
Old 10-29-17, 08:48 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 52,689
Received 343 Votes on 321 Posts
OK.

If you have problems in the future and you're "kicking around" in there.... take and post a few pictures for me. How-to-insert-pictures
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: