Power Vent


  #1  
Old 11-30-17, 06:22 AM
T
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2017
Location: USA
Posts: 19
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Power Vent

I have a TJERNLUND power vent that has three small wires, one green one white and one red. There is no wire schematic on the inside of the cover. The red and white I assume is the neutral and hot, where would the green wire get hooked up to?
 
  #2  
Old 11-30-17, 06:44 AM
S
Member
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: USA
Posts: 1,771
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Green would be the ground wire.
 
  #3  
Old 11-30-17, 06:45 AM
R
Member
Join Date: Oct 2016
Posts: 2,137
Received 185 Upvotes on 169 Posts
Green is usually the ground wire
 
  #4  
Old 11-30-17, 01:17 PM
T
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2017
Location: USA
Posts: 19
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Power Vent

Would the white wire be the switched wire?
I have no schamatic, does the red green & white connect to the thermostat panel on the gas furnace?
 
  #5  
Old 11-30-17, 01:28 PM
S
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: WI/MN
Posts: 18,874
Received 1,190 Upvotes on 1,147 Posts
Normally the hot is switched, not the neutral so I would think the red would be switched.
 
  #6  
Old 11-30-17, 03:44 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Jersey
Posts: 62,098
Received 3,424 Upvotes on 3,070 Posts
It doesn't sound like you are too sure of what you are doing. Give us more information so we can help you further. A model number of what you are connecting would be helpful. I'm guessing you are using the power venter that gets installed into a duct as a booster. It needs 120vac to operate. It also needs to know when the furnace blower is running.

Some of those venters come with a relay kit. Sometimes the wiring is left up to the installer.
 
  #7  
Old 11-30-17, 08:09 PM
T
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2017
Location: USA
Posts: 19
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Power Venter

TJERNLUND
The model number is GPAK-1T
yes itís powered by 120v
 
  #8  
Old 12-02-17, 10:51 AM
T
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2017
Location: USA
Posts: 19
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Venter

[img]webkit-fake-url://2544c5d1-b37a-4291-95a1-5eb6610bc06f/imagejpeg[/img]
 
  #9  
Old 12-02-17, 10:58 AM
T
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2017
Location: USA
Posts: 19
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Venter

[img]webkit-fake-url://28cf84dd-db9f-4943-bb18-8ac6ad3c29cd/imagejpeg[/img]
 
  #10  
Old 12-02-17, 11:49 AM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Jersey
Posts: 62,098
Received 3,424 Upvotes on 3,070 Posts
Try posting the picture directly to the board... How-to-insert-pictures
 
  #11  
Old 12-02-17, 12:40 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Jersey
Posts: 62,098
Received 3,424 Upvotes on 3,070 Posts
In the link below is the installation instructions. This unit is used to power vent a furnace flue. I can help you with the wiring but not the actual unit installation.

Tjernlund_installation_8504013.pdf

I need to know what you are connecting this to. The call for heat starts that blower first and then then the blower tells the heating plant to start. This way the plant can't heat without the blower running first.
 
  #12  
Old 12-04-17, 10:08 AM
T
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2017
Location: USA
Posts: 19
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Venter

thank you, that will help greatly with the installation.
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: