Welcome to the DoItYourself Forums!

To post questions, help other DIYers and reduce advertising (like the one on your left), join our DIY community. It's free!

Smart thermostat: need help wiring


thesmaynes's Avatar
Member

Join Date: Dec 2017
Posts: 3

12-06-17, 07:51 PM   #1 (permalink)  
Smart thermostat: need help wiring

New Vine "smart" thermostat. First picture is wiring on furnace, second is wiring on OLD thermostat, third is wiring on new thermostat. When first connecting the new thermostat it will turn on the furnace and blow warm air for exactly 180sec and turn off. Will not stay on in "on" mode or auto set to any temp. Any help would be greatly appreciated since we're having to run space heater until this gets resolved. Thanks in advance!

Name:  s1.jpg
Views: 42
Size:  73.0 KB

Name:  s3.jpg
Views: 40
Size:  99.4 KB

Name:  s4.jpg
Views: 38
Size:  60.6 KB

Name:  s5.jpg
Views: 37
Size:  83.2 KB


Last edited by PJmax; 12-06-17 at 11:50 PM. Reason: cropped/enhamced/reoriented pics
 
Sponsored Links
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator

Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 39,456
NJ

12-06-17, 11:43 PM   #2 (permalink)  
Welcome to the forums.

When you mess with a thermostat you must know what your system is.

Apparently you have a heat pump system with a back up gas furnace.
Does your thermostat say ok for use with a dual fuel system or a 1 cool and 2 heat system ?
What is the model of the thermostat ?

on edit:
I looked up that thermostat. You have a sophisticated dual fuel setup. That basic wifi thermostat doesn't appear capable of running your system.


~ Pete ~


Last edited by PJmax; 12-07-17 at 12:01 AM. Reason: additional info
 
thesmaynes's Avatar
Member

Join Date: Dec 2017
Posts: 3

12-07-17, 07:37 AM   #3 (permalink)  
That is the answer I was expecting but not hoping for, thank you for the feedback!

 
Astuff's Avatar
Member

Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 748
PA

12-07-17, 07:46 AM   #4 (permalink)  
First make sure the switch on the Vine is set to heat pump. If that doens't change anything then put the old thermostat back to verify that nothing broke.

 
thesmaynes's Avatar
Member

Join Date: Dec 2017
Posts: 3

12-07-17, 02:43 PM   #5 (permalink)  
Old thermostat reinstalled, working normally again

 
Search this Thread