Two zones: one zone no heat

Reply

  #1  
Old 01-07-18, 08:32 AM
T
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2018
Location: United States
Posts: 5
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Two zones: one zone no heat

I have a two zone system each one has a shut-off Valve Erie AG13A030. I have verified that the one not getting hot the Normally Closed Valve Coil is firing. On the Zone getting hot on the other side the pipe leading to the area calling for heat the pipe is extremely hot. This is not happening in the Zone not getting hot. I have take the Electronic part of the Valve off and manually turned the part that turns Straight and it still doesn't allow the Hot water to flow.
The Zone that is not working is an Upstairs of what is Called a High Ranch on Long Island. The Down Stairs is working normally. I don't think I have a frozen Pipe as the Temp upstairs is Reading 60 right now. I normally keep my house at 62/63 at night all year long on the Thermostat. Have been that way for years. Though it has been the coldest in the last 10 years or so.

Thank You
Tenty
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 01-07-18, 06:46 PM
T
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2018
Location: United States
Posts: 5
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Does anybody have a starting point for me to look at? I did notice the feed line does run near the outside wall. I wondering if I have a freeze on the feed since I let my system basically shut down at night due to me having it set at 62 degrees. Has to cool down to that before it would call for heat again. Will not be doing that anymore.
 
  #3  
Old 01-07-18, 06:49 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 56,394
Received 747 Votes on 702 Posts
Welcome to the forums.

manually turned the part that turns Straight and it still doesn't allow the Hot water to flow.
That sure sounds like a frozen pipe. When it's real cold outside both zones need to be used. Your downstairs zone was heating the upstairs and not allow any water to flow thru the upstairs loop.
 
  #4  
Old 01-09-18, 03:19 AM
T
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2018
Location: United States
Posts: 5
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Thank You for the Reply. I had to go out of town for a Work emergency yesterday like my Home no heat isn't. On my way home Wife called and said water was pouring out of the overhang, a section on the second floor that doesn't cover the bottom floor. RIght about a Frozen Pipe and now a busted pipe. Had her shut off the manual valves to that section.

I can repair that section, My question is How do I bleed the system to make sure no air is trapped in the Heating Lines.

My second question is What is the best way to insulate this area so this doesn't happen again.

Thank Again
Anthony

Two Zones and Two Thermostats control each floor independently.
 
  #5  
Old 01-09-18, 04:48 AM
T
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2018
Location: United States
Posts: 5
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Had Double Post.

Now that I have had a chance to look at leak its just hanging out in uninsulated space. I am lucky this never happened before.
All kinds of words for the idiots that built this in the first place.
 

Last edited by Tenty5; 01-09-18 at 04:55 AM. Reason: Double Post fixed
  #6  
Old 01-09-18, 06:11 PM
T
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2018
Location: United States
Posts: 5
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
System back up and Running. Both Zones are working. Now I just have to wait for all the Stores to get back in stock the Heat Tape. I will use one of those WiFI Plugs that I can turn on and off as needed to power the Heat Tape. From looking at the piping I just don't think Insulation will do it on its own.

Thanks
Anthony
 
Reply
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: