Implications of the air temperature at the discharge register

Old 02-05-18, 03:32 PM
Received 2 Votes on 2 Posts
Implications of the air temperature at the discharge register

I improved some HVAC duct insulation and decided to check my discharge temperatures. To my surprise, the temperature at the discharge register nearest to the furnace registered 147 degrees. The unit is in the basement where the temperature is 52 degrees and the intake ductwork is uninsulated so I assume the intake air is close to that.

While that's interesting information, I don't know what to make of it. The unit is house original so it is 30 years old. I could find no information on the unit showing what the temperature increase (discharge over intake) should be.

My questions are simple. What can be made of this data and what are the implications? If changes should be made what are they?

Sponsored Links
Old 02-05-18, 03:47 PM
Received 23 Votes on 21 Posts
Hi Tony,
I'm not an HVAC pro but I'll get you started. From what you posted it sounds like your intake air is all coming from that cool basement. Are there return ducts going up to the living space above?

The cool basement is an indication that it is really an unheated cold basement that is steeling heat from your system. Some simple insulation and air sealing would make the basement a lot warmer at no cost and help warm the floors above. Tell us more.

As for the delivered temperature there are guidelines but I won't try to guess. Let's see what the pros say.

Bud

Old 02-05-18, 04:08 PM
Group Moderator
Received 331 Votes on 309 Posts
147f is fairly high. Your furnace specifies a heat rise. It's posted on the ID tag inside on the side wall near the burner. I doubt you are making 147f with 52f return temps. A typical heat rise is 50-70 degrees. Which means your return must be around 70f.