York Furnace P2MP series intermittently locks out

Reply

  #1  
Old 02-09-18, 07:43 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 11
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Angry York Furnace P2MP series intermittently locks out

Long time lurker. I've often fixed every issue from browsing others' issues and suggestions.
I can't seem figure mine out so here I am.

My york furnace just started to act up in that it gets locked out when calling for heat. The pattern seems to be overnight when the temps drop below zero but it could just be my imagination.

To reset the lockout, I just switch the thermostat to off and back on again. It'll fire right up.

The light flashes once indicating a lockout per the sticker on the unit. It just says "Lockout check furnace".

I've tried cleaning the flame sensor rod with steel wool but I don't notice a difference.

I haven't been able to catch it in the act of locking out, just that I'd wake up and it'd be in the low 60's.

Is there a way to check for a fault history code on these? Some have a recall button but I can't seem to find a button.
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 02-09-18, 10:05 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 51,908
Received 259 Votes on 244 Posts
I need the full model number of the furnace.

As a technician I check the vacuum level on the draft inducer/pressure switch.
Other than that.... you need to be at the furnace when it fails before it goes into lockout.
Based on the model I'll let you know about fault recall.
 
  #3  
Old 02-10-18, 02:14 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 11
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Hi. Thanks for replying. The full model number is P2MPD20N08001A.
 
  #4  
Old 02-10-18, 11:24 AM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 51,908
Received 259 Votes on 244 Posts
The board is shown to have a last fault button near the LED.
If it's not there then it's only on the newer version boards.

Site/Catalog/PDFFile.asp?f=035-22285-002-B-0914.PDF
 
  #5  
Old 02-18-18, 06:34 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 11
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
No button next to the led.
I just watched the furnace. This is what it does when it isn't working:
- fan comes on
- ignitor glows for 30 seconds or so(just a guess)
- a few clicks (solenoids or relays?)
- ignitor turns off
-cycle restarts

I put my hands on the gas valve solenoids to see if they were actuating and didn't feel a distinctive click so I put a multimeter on the 1 and 2 terminals of the valve. These ones had wires so I was assuming this is where the power comes in to open the gas valve.

I got 30mv AC at first then 76mv AC after the ignitor had been on for awhile, then it dropped to 17mv after the ignitor turned off.
I wasn't sure if it should be ac or dc so I checked with DC and got nothing at all.
Where can I find specs on what the solenoids need? It looks like I can unscrew the top cover of the valve with some security torx and possibly replace the solenoids. Is this advisable?
 
  #6  
Old 02-18-18, 07:42 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 11
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
After letting it lock itself out and waiting 15 minutes, i checked again and it had 24vAC and worked properly. Is this likely a board issue then?
 
  #7  
Old 02-24-18, 03:14 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 11
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Anyone have any thoughts?
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: