Goodman gas pack recycling

Reply

  #1  
Old 02-11-18, 09:43 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Feb 2018
Location: USA
Posts: 6
Goodman gas pack recycling

I have a Goodman gas pack . The house was cold after being gone for a week . I thought it wasthe pressure switch. I replaced it with a dual purpose adjustable one. Thought i had it right but kept doing same. The same behavior is this: fires up, butshort cycles back off. The circuit board flashes three times, I reset the power and mboard flashes 2 times. It then calls for heat, the inducer motor kicks in the light goes solid and it
fires up again. Then the sequence starts all over again. Sometimes the inducerwont kick on sometimes it will. About half the time the top burner will roll out and trip the roll out switch. Also, I have noticed the exhaust is stronger than what I would say is normal. Usuall i can stand it if I get a whiff, but with this one it takes my breath away and burns eyes to point I have to walk away . Usually i can turn my head for a fresh breath, but with this one I have to walk away to get fresh air. I replaced the new pressure switch with an exact replacement, so I think. It is a -0.33 wc. Im wondering if the new one could be NC vs NO ecause with the new switch it seemed to keep flashing two. The model and serial is:
M: GPG1360115M41DA, S: 1304684232
any ideas? Iím leaning towards a clogged or cracked heat exchanger. Filters changed out last month. Have not checked duct work but donít anticipate any collapse or crushing there.
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 02-11-18, 09:47 AM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 45,575
Welcome to the forums.

Sounds like several issues there. I don't recommend changing the pressure switch especially with an adjustable one. If it's tripping.... there is a problem. Packaged units age quicker as they're outside and require yearly maintenance. I'd recommend calling your gas supplier for a maintenance call.
 
  #3  
Old 02-11-18, 10:46 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Feb 2018
Location: USA
Posts: 6
Gas pack

Hmm, I have a couple buddies J always refer to when I run into a problem. The gas supplier does do service any mores. I actually worked for them for 10 years. I havenít worked on pckage units in about 15 years. Back when I was working on things , you could jump out a pressure switch. (Before circuit boards were prevalent) logs , space heaters, water heaters, piping... Iím good at. HVAC .... I learn as I go. I think I will go ahead and check the heat exchanger but in the interim Iíll call my home warranty company. I have been avoiding them cause I figure Iíll have to wait a few days. Plus the deductible is 100.00. But, if I know if I am not careful Iíll put that much in parts I dont need.
 
  #4  
Old 02-11-18, 11:48 AM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 45,575
The pressure switch can't be just jumped out. The board looks for the pressure switch to be open on a call for heat and to close once the inducer blower starts running.
 
  #5  
Old 02-11-18, 12:05 PM
Member
Join Date: Oct 2016
Posts: 715
It not advisable to jump things out. Your not fixing anything at that point, your just a hack.
How did you set the new adjustable pressure switch up? You used a manometer to set it correctly, right?
It sounds like it may have a heat exchanger problem. I’d shut it down until it can be properly diagnosed.
Home warranty companies have a horrible reputation. They often hire the cheapest body they can find, and don’t care about technical ability. They’ve also been known to install used parts and damage/destroy equipment.
 
  #6  
Old 02-11-18, 11:20 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Feb 2018
Location: USA
Posts: 6
Goodman

yes I know I cant jump out pressure switch , now I know. But Iím pretty sure I used to do it yeayago before circuit boards. But anyway, now I realize I cant. I donít have a monometer that goes that low. Mine only goes to 5 inches wc. So what I did was turn it clockwise until J heard it click and my ohm meter indicated continuiy. Then , once inducer on, I backed it off until it clicked again and then a little more, also confirmed continuity. But, since it still didnít work, I went on and bought the correct one. Or at least Its supposed to be the correct one. It is -0.33 negative pressure. It didnít seem to act right and I sort of wonder if it is a NC instead of NO. Or do theh even make a NC

[img]webkit-fake-url://134ce4a9-a17f-48bc-ad4e-cf8b5921bdfd/imagejpeg[/img]
 
  #7  
Old 02-12-18, 06:37 AM
Member
Join Date: Oct 2016
Posts: 715
You can’t jump out controls even if there’s no board. It’s a safety control. The opening switch isn’t the problem, it’s the result of the real issue. Jumping the pressure switch out creates a major safety issue. I’ve seen units burn to the ground because someone has jumped out safety controls.
If the unit is burning your eyes and rolling out it’s got a major combustion issue.
Check gas pressure, and the condition of the heat exchanger and associated draft components.
The pressure switch should be the exact OEM replacement.
 
  #8  
Old 02-12-18, 08:01 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Feb 2018
Location: USA
Posts: 6
Thanks, I did go back with what the Goodman dealer said was the proper replacement, although I did notice the OEM said Goodman on it and this one is a different brand. But, both made in Costa Rica, source 1 is the new one. I never jumped out something and left it, just use as a diagnostic tool. Although,I know, I know its a jack leg, shade tree, way of doing things. But when it comes to HVAC I donít claim to be a professional, I usually waste alot of my own time and when I have thourghly ehausted all ideas and am looking at spending more money than just paying the professional, that is when I accept defeat and call in the calvary, you, the professional. I really appreciate your help and your concern for my safety. If I lived in your area You wold be who I would call. About the home warranty guy... I always figured that was the case. Probably not getting anyone much better than me. I knew that exhaust seemed to lead to the heat exchanger. Iíll let yíall know what happens. Oh, and I checked on the guy they want to send and the reviews are about 50/50. The negative ones are all from warranty jobs. Go figure.
 
  #9  
Old 02-12-18, 08:08 AM
Member
Join Date: Oct 2016
Posts: 715
Whatever it is, DO NOT allow it to run like that. It could be producing large amounts of CO, which will kill you very easily.
The rollout is also a fire hazard.
 
  #10  
Old 02-12-18, 10:06 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Feb 2018
Location: USA
Posts: 6
Co

Maybe tht explains my headaches??
Just kidding. Trust me, Iím aware of this, thanks man.
 
  #11  
Old 02-12-18, 10:59 AM
Member
Join Date: Oct 2016
Posts: 715
You’d be amazed how many consumers think CO is a sales tactic made up by hvac techs to sell stuff.
Or they think it’s not a real danger.
 
  #12  
Old 02-12-18, 11:54 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Feb 2018
Location: USA
Posts: 6
Co

have them call the fire department, theyíll use their gas detector and show them, plus they will validate you, even if the CO isnít at critical levels yet. Most fire departments will evacuate the structure at 35ppm, shut off gas, not allow reentry until levels are down and a rep from gas utility has arrived.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes