Heater turns on for a minute, then off


  #1  
Old 02-25-18, 08:44 AM
B
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2015
Posts: 7
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Heater turns on for a minute, then off

Hi all,

My heater turns on and runs for a minute or so then shuts off. Temp is still way below what it should be so 30 seconds later it starts to kick on again. Turns on and off. Repeats this process until it shuts down completely and I have to reset things.

After some research here I assume it was a dirty
flame censor. After opening things up Iím not sure if my furnace has one so Iím stuck at this point.

My furnance is OLD. Bryant Day&Night. Manual says model 394 & 396.

Here are some pics.
https://imgur.com/a/A7IFm
Name:  gf1.jpg
Views: 468
Size:  58.6 KB

Name:  gf2.jpg
Views: 288
Size:  67.9 KB
 

Last edited by PJmax; 02-25-18 at 09:00 AM. Reason: added pics from link
  #2  
Old 02-25-18, 09:04 AM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 62,658
Received 1,613 Votes on 1,485 Posts
That furnace uses an intermittent ignition system where the pilot is spark lit. It doesn't have a conventional flame sensor rod. It has a pilot assembly that includes an igniter/sensor assembly.

The full model number should be on an ID tag in that area.

Has the unit been professionally cleaned ?
It should be done every year or at least every other year. On an older furnace the heat exchanger is checked for cracks and rust thru.
 
  #3  
Old 02-25-18, 09:21 AM
B
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2015
Posts: 7
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Hereís the model information
https://imgur.com/a/kaqG5

so are you recommending just having someone come out and service it?

thanks!
 
  #4  
Old 02-25-18, 10:21 AM
XSleeper's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 27,359
Received 997 Votes on 908 Posts
Some heaters shut off then run again for a short period of time to dispense the residual heat on the heat exchanger. The heater in my former apartment was almost identical to yours... And that's the way it worked, so i would say it's normal. Unless you are saying that if you turn the thermostat up from 65 to say, 70F that it still only runs for 1 minute...
 
  #5  
Old 02-25-18, 10:41 AM
B
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2015
Posts: 7
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Xsleeper - my house is 63 right now and I want it to be 70. It doesnít even move up 1 degree when it kicks on at this point.
 
  #6  
Old 02-25-18, 10:47 AM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 62,658
Received 1,613 Votes on 1,485 Posts
Have you checked and replaced the air filter ?
Your furnace may be shutting down on overheat.
 
  #7  
Old 02-25-18, 10:49 AM
B
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2015
Posts: 7
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
I changed the air filter about a month ago.
 
  #8  
Old 02-25-18, 11:31 AM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 62,658
Received 1,613 Votes on 1,485 Posts
My preliminary lookup shows a control board with a fault LED. See if there is a sight glass thru the blower door.
 
  #9  
Old 02-25-18, 11:43 AM
B
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2015
Posts: 7
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Hereís inside the blower door. Not sure if this is what you are referring to.

https://imgur.com/a/bgdUM
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: