Cracks in furnace transition box


  #1  
Old 03-10-18, 02:17 PM
LakeEffect's Avatar
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Canada
Posts: 23
Upvotes: 0
Received 1 Upvote on 1 Post
Post Cracks in furnace transition box

Replaced the draft inducer motor in my Keep Rite furnace and saw a couple of cracks in the transition box. Furnace is working and this has probably been like this for a while. Pics attached. How critical are these?
 
Attached Images   
  #2  
Old 03-10-18, 03:30 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Jersey
Posts: 62,054
Received 3,420 Upvotes on 3,066 Posts
That looks like a crack in the heat exchanger. That would mean the end of the furnace. It would be extremely expensive to replace the exchanger.
 
  #3  
Old 03-10-18, 03:36 PM
LakeEffect's Avatar
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Canada
Posts: 23
Upvotes: 0
Received 1 Upvote on 1 Post
I thought the crack was the plastic back of the transition box.
 
Attached Images   
  #4  
Old 03-10-18, 03:37 PM
R
Member
Join Date: Oct 2016
Posts: 2,135
Received 185 Upvotes on 169 Posts
X2, it appears your heat exchanger may be cracked.
I’d not recommend running the furnace if so.
Take off the collector box and see.
 
  #5  
Old 03-10-18, 04:04 PM
LakeEffect's Avatar
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Canada
Posts: 23
Upvotes: 0
Received 1 Upvote on 1 Post
@PJmax
Excuse my ignorance. Can you tell me what would lead you to believe it's a crack in the heat exchanger?
@roughneck77
I'll do that to be sure. Thanks.
 
  #6  
Old 03-10-18, 04:06 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Jersey
Posts: 62,054
Received 3,420 Upvotes on 3,066 Posts
Post the model number for that furnace. I can only go by what I see in your pictures.
 
  #7  
Old 03-10-18, 06:23 PM
LakeEffect's Avatar
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Canada
Posts: 23
Upvotes: 0
Received 1 Upvote on 1 Post
My apologies. Model #N9MP1050B12C2.

I'm going to replace the transition box this week.
 
  #8  
Old 12-12-18, 11:23 PM
C
Member
Join Date: Dec 2018
Posts: 1
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Did replacing the transition box fix the issue?

Let me know if it fixed the issue once you replaced the box. Thanks!
 
  #9  
Old 12-13-18, 05:00 AM
LakeEffect's Avatar
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Canada
Posts: 23
Upvotes: 0
Received 1 Upvote on 1 Post
The transition box is where the cracks were and replacing it was straight forward.
 
  #10  
Old 12-20-18, 07:35 PM
J
Member
Join Date: Dec 2018
Location: United States
Posts: 1
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
So can you explain why this happened? I am currently out of heat at the moment my draft inducer stopped working it was making a funny noise for a while now and stopped working tonight like itís seized up. Well I took it off to make sure that there wasnít anything blocking it and noticed my box looks just like your picture with the crack at the entrance.
 
  #11  
Old 12-20-18, 07:40 PM
LakeEffect's Avatar
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Canada
Posts: 23
Upvotes: 0
Received 1 Upvote on 1 Post
Not sure. Based on the poor placement of the hose clamp which dug into the box, I was leaning towards shoddy installation. When installing the new one I noted that it would be quite easy to overtighten the screws. Maybe that's what happened and caused it to crack.
 
  #12  
Old 01-19-19, 09:27 AM
K
Member
Join Date: Jan 2019
Location: USA
Posts: 1
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
I typed the model number

I had the exact same issue on my Comfortmaker Furnace Model# N9MP2050B12c. Like LakeEffect, I suspect this was due to shoddy installation or possibly it's just an design flaw. Plastic doesn't seem like the best material to use for something that's gets wet and very hot (it's located near the burner assembly and the draft inducer. Plus, my furnace is installed in a fairly enclosed space which tends to make it run hotter than I think it should. Regardless, I think replacing the transition assembly is all that is needed. I discovered this issue while replacing my draft inducer motor.
 

Last edited by kjhendrickson; 01-19-19 at 09:28 AM. Reason: typo
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: