Westinghouse high efficiency gas furnace not firing


  #1  
Old 03-18-18, 05:20 PM
A
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2018
Location: USA
Posts: 11
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Westinghouse high efficiency gas furnace not firing

Hi folks. I live in New England. Furnace 12 years old. Stopped producing heat last night. On starting cycle, blower engages, I hear clicks at intervals, do not see anything through sight glass. After a few minutes the Nordyne circuit board LED starts blinking 4 times, and blower turns off. Did continuity test on igniter, all ok. Tested thermostat, ok.

I'm not able to find a westinghouse manual online, or any great detail about likely issue. Any help will be greatly appreciated
 
  #2  
Old 03-18-18, 05:34 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 62,158
Received 1,525 Votes on 1,408 Posts
Post the model number for the furnace.
 
  #3  
Old 03-19-18, 03:37 AM
A
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2018
Location: USA
Posts: 11
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
The model number is FG6RC
 
  #4  
Old 03-19-18, 11:23 AM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 62,158
Received 1,525 Votes on 1,408 Posts
That's a Nordyne furnace. I need the FULL model number.
It's inside on the sidewall on an ID tag near the burner.
 
  #5  
Old 03-19-18, 03:02 PM
A
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2018
Location: USA
Posts: 11
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
the model number is FG6RC 060C
 
  #6  
Old 03-19-18, 04:21 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 62,158
Received 1,525 Votes on 1,408 Posts
We're getting closer...... I'll use FG6RC-060-12A
The F is the selling brand.... Frigidaire.
The G6RC is the Nordyne mfg group
The 060 is the size in BTU's.
The 12A is the revision.

This service manual should cover your unit ok. It looks like the 4 flash code is a lockout code. You'd need to restart the furnace and then run it until you got an actual fault code. The codes are shown on page 28.

N+/g6rc_service.pdf
 
  #7  
Old 03-19-18, 04:25 PM
A
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2018
Location: USA
Posts: 11
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Thanks very much Pete. I'll get back to you with results
 
  #8  
Old 03-19-18, 05:21 PM
A
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2018
Location: USA
Posts: 11
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Pete, followed instructions as best I could on page 18 if the manual...except 3) furnace disconnect closed? I don't know what that is, 6) manual reset switches open?, and 8) is the flame sensor coated (I didn't pull it out).

On pressing door switch closed the inducer engaged. Several clicks, first 2 at about 27 seconds and 57 seconds. Could not see any glow on igniter at any time during cycle. Maybe 4 minutes in the LED began blinking 4 times again.

Pressed the reset button on the vent safety switch, and cycle was identical ending with blinking 4 times. Pressed the reset button flame rollout switch, same results.

Those reset buttons didn't really seem to depress as you'd expect a button to. I assume that are just making a connection and no real force is necessary.

Please note that I initially had to jumper the red/white wires at thermostat, as inducer didn't engage. Reading through manual it says it says after 5 unsuccessful attempts it will lock out, and thermostat must be opened for 10 seconds to reset. I'm not sure what that actually means.

Please let me know your thoughts, and thanks again
 
  #9  
Old 03-19-18, 06:10 PM
A
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2018
Location: USA
Posts: 11
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Reconnected the thermostat and inducer not cycling on. I had to jumper red/white to get it going last time too. Bad thermostat wouldn't have caused furnace to lock though would it? Pretty big coincidence though, thermostat and some furnace element failing at the same time? But if bypass the thermostat why wont it start?
 
  #10  
Old 03-19-18, 06:58 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 62,158
Received 1,525 Votes on 1,408 Posts
After a call for heat..... the inducer starts a pre-purge. After approx 15-30 seconds the igniter should start to glow. It sounds like you have an igniter problem. You should visually check it for cracks. It needs to be handled very carefully as it is carbide and will crack very easily.

Your second click sounds like the gas valve opening. Since there is no flame... the furnace will abort the cycle. It should try the cycle three times before the board goes into lockout.
 
  #11  
Old 03-19-18, 07:45 PM
A
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2018
Location: USA
Posts: 11
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
I've never seen the igniter glowing. Continuity test was good though.
 
  #12  
Old 03-19-18, 07:47 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 62,158
Received 1,525 Votes on 1,408 Posts
You should have measured somewhere around 50 ohms. Your next step would be set your meter to the scale to read 120vac and check for 120v to igniter. From what you've said... the first click is at 27 seconds. That would be the igniter turning on.
 
  #13  
Old 03-20-18, 07:00 AM
A
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2018
Location: USA
Posts: 11
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Thank you Pete. Readings were in the 11 range on igniter continuity test
 
  #14  
Old 03-20-18, 08:39 AM
A
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2018
Location: USA
Posts: 11
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Hi Pete. I bought an analog multimeter to retest continuity. I'm not sure why we got a reading on digital multimeter yesterday, but not getting any reading on igniter today. I cycled on the furnace and got 120V at around 30 seconds as expected. I'll start looking for replacement igniter. Thank you so much for your help.
 
  #15  
Old 03-20-18, 04:25 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 62,158
Received 1,525 Votes on 1,408 Posts
The manual shows the round style Carburundom type igniter. The other style is flat. Make sure your new one is of the same type. When I look up parts for that furnace I'm seeing both type specified. It can't be both... they aren't interchangeable. Sometimes there is a tag on the igniter with a part number.
 
  #16  
Old 03-21-18, 05:07 AM
A
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2018
Location: USA
Posts: 11
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Thanks, I believe the part # is 903758. I'm bringing old one into supply store and will confirm same type. Thank you,
 
  #17  
Old 03-21-18, 09:26 AM
A
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2018
Location: USA
Posts: 11
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Pete, I replaced the igniter and I once again have heat! Thank you very much for your guidance.

Art
 
  #18  
Old 03-21-18, 11:00 AM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 62,158
Received 1,525 Votes on 1,408 Posts
That's the generic flat igniter. Same one my furnace uses.

Your welcome..... good job.
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: