Furnace Blower starting to make noise

Reply

  #1  
Old 08-17-18, 06:02 PM
I
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: United States
Posts: 199
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Furnace Blower starting to make noise

I have a furnace that is about 16 years old. THe furnace blower in my attic furnace is starting to make bearing related noise. It isn't bad yet but Idon't want what a problem to catch me off when it is not convenient.

What is the best way to deal with this? replace the motor? squirrel
cage? I have rad that you can open up the motor and re-oil the bearing oil pads.

Appreciate anyone thoughts.
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 08-17-18, 08:32 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 59,069
Received 1,109 Votes on 1,029 Posts
You may be able to lubricate the motor. You'd need to open the service door and see if there are oil ports. Most blower motors have sealed bearings that are not re-oilable.
 
  #3  
Old 08-18-18, 02:23 AM
M
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: USA - N.E.Tn
Posts: 47,640
Received 316 Votes on 280 Posts
IMO it isn't a big deal to replace the motor if you need to.
 
  #4  
Old 08-18-18, 04:01 AM
Marq1's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Sep 2016
Location: USA MI
Posts: 6,525
Received 367 Votes on 342 Posts
Make sure it's the motor or the blower itself.

Couple years ago our blower came apart at the shaft which made noise, we assumed it was the motor, after the repair we heard that it happens more than you would think.
 
  #5  
Old 08-18-18, 01:45 PM
I
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: United States
Posts: 199
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
I travel for business a reasonable amount so don't want it leave a problem for my spouse to deal with. I agree that repalcing the motor isn't too muh of a big deal. Biggest hasssle is getting the control board out of the way and taking the pictures to make sure you get the wires hooked back up correctly.

System is 16 years old. Hate to spend the money replacing the motor only to have somehting else go out.

My motor doe snot have oil ports but I have seen a couple of articles on thw web where they just took the motor apart and re oiled the pads near the bearings. Just not sure how temporary that fix is.
 
  #6  
Old 08-18-18, 01:56 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 59,069
Received 1,109 Votes on 1,029 Posts
That is a temporary repair. There is no guarantee how long it will last.
If you can't have downtime.... look to replacing it.
 
  #7  
Old 08-20-18, 07:02 PM
I
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: United States
Posts: 199
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
THanks. That confirms my initial thoughts. I don't plan on moving any time soon so this should be an ok investment.
 
Reply
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: