American standard 95v blowing no heat


  #1  
Old 10-11-18, 12:30 PM
I
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2018
Posts: 8
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
American standard 95v blowing no heat. 3 blink error

Auh2b080a9v3vb furnace. Rockford,IL. 2 story with basement. Furnace was installed in 2013. Temps dropping into 40s in next couple days.

During the summer the ac froze up a couple times and I knew it might cause an issue with the furnace. Upon defrost, the runnoff was pouring on top the furnace. I verified the water had poured over the burner box on to the pressure switch and into the pan underneath before finding a way out to the floor leaving my board safe and dry from what I have witnessed.

Upon call for heat, 3blink error. Furnace resets, calls for heat. Inducer runs. Ignitor glows. No combustion. Furnace shuts down. No blink error. Inducer begins blowing on high no ignitor and no call for heat showing. No heat and will run as long as I allow it.

Vacuumed exaust flue, cleaned flame sensor, cleaned burners and fins of rust, vacuumed out box attached to inducer, vacuumed out hoses, refilled p-trap, installed New pressure switch and gas valve as both had calcification on their casings and I wasnt sure if they had been compromised from the water. After reading about them I figured better safe than sorry.

Still have 3 light error. Inducer always comes on and will go into high gear. Ignitor glows but never ignites. Furnace eventually cycles and blows cold air without flashing error code showing no call for heat. Upon cycle, 3blink error, call for heat and repeat process. Before I buy an inducer...hoping someone can point me in a simpler fix direction.
 

Last edited by icedrgn027; 10-11-18 at 01:16 PM.
  #2  
Old 10-11-18, 08:07 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Jersey
Posts: 62,102
Received 3,424 Upvotes on 3,070 Posts
Welcome to the forums.

Something is not making sense here. Your are getting a 3 flash code. That code means that the pressure switch did not close. The igniter will not start to heat unless the pressure switch closes. You shouldn't be getting an active igniter and a three flash code.

Does that furnace have two pressure switches ?

Should be your manual
 
  #3  
Old 10-11-18, 08:46 PM
I
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2018
Posts: 8
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Yes. It is a dual pressure switch. They are stacked on top of each other.

The code table on the inside panel lists 3blinks as inducer or pressure switch error. I assumed it was the later the whole way as I checked various things that were recommended for 3 blink pressure switch. The blinking stops when the furnace cycles itself off then back on before trying to light then resets and skips ignitor and blows non stop, no flame.

I have a inducer motor on it's way but that's still a few days away worst case scenario. It did sound like it was humming a little louder than should be but never appeared to be struggling. I worry the water has started rusting the bearing preventing proper vacuum being created. Just my basic guess though...was hoping I overlooked something trivial.
 
  #4  
Old 10-11-18, 09:22 PM
I
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2018
Posts: 8
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
  #5  
Old 10-14-18, 11:44 AM
I
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2018
Posts: 8
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Installed inducer motor....same issue
 
  #6  
Old 10-14-18, 11:53 AM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Jersey
Posts: 62,102
Received 3,424 Upvotes on 3,070 Posts
Do you have a voltmeter ?
Leaving the furnace as normal..... connect the two probes to the same pressure switch that is connected to the inducer. You should see 24vAC when the furnace is just sitting there waiting. After a call for heat and the inducer starts..... that should become 0v. Is that happening.
 
  #7  
Old 10-15-18, 01:28 PM
I
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2018
Posts: 8
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Had a technician to the house. He said the board is not sending electric to the gas valve. Recommendation was replacement board.

​​​
 
  #8  
Old 10-19-18, 12:01 AM
I
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2018
Posts: 8
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
New board same problems...unless this board is bad too, I'm looking for a different problem. Could this be a limit switch problem? I am indeed getting ignitor to glow but no ignition.
The blinking lights is the last 5 errors which are shown upon startup according to OEM material. These apparently I have not figured out how to clear. There is no light problem during heating sequence. Upon gas failure, solid red with full blower until power is shut off.
It appears there is a constant half volt coming from the board to the gas valve but this never increases when there should be a call for gas. Should I assume I have a bad switch at this point or another bad board as it is also failing to engage gas valve. If these switch's can create the problem I'm experiencing...I'm up to try anything.

The service tech tried to sell me a control board for $900. I purchased one online for $175 but I still have no heat as it acts like the first board. I really can't afford a tech to sell me parts. Especially if it's really the switchs that can cause an issue like this. Cold and frustrated lol.
 
  #9  
Old 10-19-18, 01:00 AM
I
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2018
Posts: 8
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
I checked switches and all give ohms readings. So they should be good. The control board in question is a Emerson white Rodgers 50v54-741-01
 
  #10  
Old 10-19-18, 03:32 PM
J
Member
Join Date: Oct 2018
Posts: 6
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Thatís crazy Iím actually dealing with the same issue never had this problem before literally checked everything made sure gas valve wasnít bad tried to replace the board and it also didnít seem to be shooting power to the gas valve so I put the old board back on I also check all three limit switches still power to gas valve unless itís the harness from the board to gas valve I canít think of anything else
(nordyne gas furnace)?
 
  #11  
Old 10-23-18, 12:45 PM
I
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2018
Posts: 8
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
This did in fact being a bad control board. Another was sent out and we have heat. Good luck to anyone else out there.
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: