Furnace doesn't respond to thermostat

Reply

  #1  
Old 11-19-18, 01:24 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2014
Posts: 16
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Furnace doesn't respond to thermostat

I have a furnace that seems to work fine except...

It's a gas furnace from the early 1980's, Heil brand.

When i'm downstairs at the furnace and if i use the manual switch and turn it off then on the furnace will start and run. but once it turns off it won't turn on again from the thermostat. When i change the thermostat i can hear the furnace click in the basement but it doesn't come on.

I've been chasing this problem awhile now.

There is another glitch i've noticed and that's the igniter keeps clicking even while the furnace is running. That seems bad. i can hear it just ticking away. so i thot the automatic igniter was goofy and replaced it w a salvage item from ebay that was said to work. no change in clicking or furnace behavior. actually, the new igniter now sometimes stops clicking after 5 seconds -- and also the gas shuts off. then i turn the manual switch off and on again and it reignites and stays lit. and keeps 'tick tick tick'-ing.

I then thought something was up in the gas valve solenoid. the solenoid is a nice separate little part on the valve but doesn't seem separately available. so i bought a salvage gas valve off ebay, claimed to work fine. no change in furnace behavior.

the furnace now has 4 other parts i could replace. one is called a fan limiter and the other two are mounted on a box at the side of the compartment. then there's the igniter itself.

my brother told me to look for some sensors near the flame area that might be failing but i see no such devices.

i was thinking this might be an easy fix in the end and so i then installed a nice new programmable thermostat -- no change.

Any ideas? thanks!
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 11-19-18, 08:32 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 53,534
Received 408 Votes on 384 Posts
Any ideas? thanks!
Yes...... with the age of that unit it should be professionally serviced if it hasn't been in several years.

The furnace is locking out on a fault. Powering it down and then back up is clearing the fault.
It sounds like the pilot orifice is dirty and the pilot flame is not large enough to stop the ignition process.
 
  #3  
Old 11-19-18, 10:16 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2014
Posts: 16
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
thanks for the advice! ...i'll call for help.
 
  #4  
Old 11-20-18, 04:47 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2014
Posts: 16
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
PS: this furnace has an igniter not a pilot and the igniter stays clicking in the middle of what looks like good flame.

but that fault angle and the cleaning angle seem worth following...as does getting a pro to check it out.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: