Goodman furnace not working


  #1  
Old 11-28-18, 07:43 AM
A
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2018
Posts: 2
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Goodman furnace not working

Hello,

Iím trying to fix my in-laws Goodman mfg furnace.

The inducer motor is not turning on when calling for heat. The circuit board is flashing three times (pressure switch stuck open). I changed the pressure switch with the Universal brand and it didnít work even after trying to adjust it. I put the old pressure switch back and the inducer motor came on after I lossened the hot and common wires going to the inducer. The furnace worked for awhile but then it stopped working again. The weird part is that the inducer motor comes on every time I lossened or wiggle the hot and common wires going to the inducer. The circuit board is sending 120v to the inducer and itís sending the correct voltage to all the other components. I checked the vents for blockages and everything looks good.
I checked continuty on the wires going to the inducer and the pressure switch from the circuit board and everything is good there. I also check resistance on the inducer motor and itís reading OL which should indicate that the motor is bad but I donít understand why the inducer starts working after I lossen the wires.
I am baffled by this issue. Iíd like to ask if anyone has encountered this problem before or if this issue is being caused by the pressure switch?

i appreciate any help.

 
  #2  
Old 11-28-18, 12:14 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Jersey
Posts: 62,054
Received 3,420 Upvotes on 3,066 Posts
Welcome to the forums.

Yes..... I encounter intermittent problems every day. You need to address them in an ordered fashion.
The inducer must be running before the igniter will light. So replacing the pressure switch was a waste of time.

The inducer must start and be running normally.
The pressure switch must prove.
Then the igniter will start heating.

If the wiring is intermittent at the control box..... it leaves two choices..... corroded contacts/terminals which can be cleaned or defective internal solder on the terminals on the board.
 
  #3  
Old 11-28-18, 01:12 PM
A
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2018
Posts: 2
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Thanks PJMax for the information.

One question: whoud you know why the inducer is giving a resistance reading of OL? I thought this would indicate that the windings of the inducer motor are bad.

Also, the control board is sending the correct voltage to the inducer, wouldnít this indicate that the control board isnít the problem?

Thanks again for for your help.
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: