No Call For Heat


  #1  
Old 12-21-18, 09:43 AM
B
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2018
Posts: 4
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
No Call For Heat

Hi All

Trane, model TUC060C936A0. Light is blinking slow, continuously which is showing ďNormal, no call for heat.Ē

I had a smart thermostat installed over the summer and the AC works fine. Iím assuming the tech tested the heat but not sure. I contacted their support and after a few basic troubleshooting steps with wiring and settings, they are sending a replacement. Red wire goes to RC, no wire to RH.

If the thermostat is not at fault, what are the first few things I should check? Fan doesnít come on but will if I switch it to ďOnĒ. Thermostat shows that itís requesting heat. AC works fine. I checked the continuity on the hot ignition which read .6. I donít hear anything come on or click whatsoever.

Thanks
 
  #2  
Old 12-21-18, 11:47 AM
A
Member
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: USA
Posts: 1,471
Received 83 Upvotes on 75 Posts
Try jumpering the red wire with the W1 (normally white) wire together to bypass the thermostat.
 
  #3  
Old 12-21-18, 04:11 PM
vinniemak's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 23
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Hi, Bobby:

Just my 2 cents ; did you check the ignitor with an Ohm meter ; should read low resistance between 3 to 10 ohms...continuity is probably okay but if the resistance is higher may not complete the circuit back to board. I assume you have a HSI like a Q3400 or Q3450 ignitor ??

Also, I believe there should be a jumper in your thermostat that connects RC to RH thus only one wire is required to RC ; but not sure.

Finally I believe the W wire is for heat ; double check that.

Again the above are my 2 cents and hope they help you.
 
  #4  
Old 12-21-18, 04:25 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Jersey
Posts: 62,035
Received 3,415 Upvotes on 3,063 Posts
On a call for heat..... the draft inducer blower comes on first.
If that it isn't happening.... don't worry about the igniter.

It's not going to be a blower problem as that's also used for A/C and that is ok.
 
  #5  
Old 12-21-18, 05:27 PM
B
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2018
Posts: 4
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Thanks, guys. PJ, when you say the blower is not at fault, are you saying the draft inducer?

I will have a chance tomorrow to try and bypass the thermostat.

Thanks
 
  #6  
Old 12-21-18, 08:13 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Jersey
Posts: 62,035
Received 3,415 Upvotes on 3,063 Posts
I use the proper names.... blower and draft inducer blower.
Your main blower is not causing your problem.
 
  #7  
Old 12-21-18, 08:14 PM
B
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2018
Posts: 4
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Figured... just making sure.

Thanks
 
  #8  
Old 12-22-18, 09:23 AM
Geochurchi's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 4,960
Received 158 Upvotes on 144 Posts
Hi, how long ago was the stat installed? Call the service co. and have them come back and check it out, donít ASSUME anything.
Geo
 
  #9  
Old 12-22-18, 02:23 PM
B
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2018
Posts: 4
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Itís the thermostat! Gas and electric company installed it over the summer. Called Ecobee support and they are sending a new one out.

Thanks for the help, all! Major relief that it wasnít anything major.
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: