Adding A/C to existing forced air furnace


  #1  
Old 01-16-19, 06:23 PM
A
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2019
Location: USA
Posts: 1
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Question Adding A/C to existing forced air furnace

I have a Custom-Aire T80DD, 80,000 BTU furnace in a vacation home. It needs a replacement fan/motor. While I change it, I wondered if maybe I could add an AC to the equipment for use in hot, summer months. System has a bypass fan switch. Any thoughts?
 
  #2  
Old 01-16-19, 07:08 PM
Beachboy's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Northeast Kansas
Posts: 756
Likes: 0
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
How old is the furnace? You may want to consider upgrading the furnace at the same time as adding the A/C. It may not be much more expensive than just replacing the blower motor assembly.
 
  #3  
Old 01-16-19, 08:33 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Jersey
Posts: 70,915
Received 3,161 Likes on 2,840 Posts
Welcome to the forums.

That looks like an older standing pilot furnace.
Can you install A/C in that furnace...... yes. Should you..... probably not.
Duct work setup has a lot to do with an A/C system.

It's not a DIY job so if you're seriously considering it...... call and get a few estimates.
I'd imagine the prices for adding in the coil could be just as expensive as replacing the furnace.
 
  #4  
Old 01-17-19, 03:43 PM
user 10's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: NA
Posts: 2,148
Received 50 Likes on 44 Posts
some of those old furnaces don't have blowers designed for a/c and have low airflow relative to heating capacity.
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: