Replacement Inducer Goodman 0171M00001S question

Reply

  #1  
Old 02-05-19, 05:31 PM
G
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2018
Location: United States
Posts: 33
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Replacement Inducer Goodman 0171M00001S question

I suspect I have a bad inducer motor so I ordered an OEM replacement and went to replace it today but noticed that the new OEM directly replacement is missing the drain plug on the bottom of the inducer. We called repair clinic and they inform that the manufacture made a change and this is indeed the correct part. Has anyone ever ran into this? Why would they get rid of the drain on the inducer? I have a propane furnace.

What would happen if I installed this new motor and it doesn't have a drain like the old one?
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 02-05-19, 06:37 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 59,855
Received 1,203 Votes on 1,113 Posts
Does your furnace have a drain line connected to the old inducer ?
 
  #3  
Old 02-05-19, 06:45 PM
G
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2018
Location: United States
Posts: 33
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Yes it does.

I've done some additional research and I think what I need to do is this. Purchase a new elbow that has a drain built in and then run that to my P trap where my old inducers drain went. You agree?

I wonder why Goodman got rid of the drain on their inducer.
 
  #4  
Old 02-05-19, 07:08 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 59,855
Received 1,203 Votes on 1,113 Posts
Sounds like a likely repair. I'd need the full furnace model number to comment further.
 
  #5  
Old 02-05-19, 07:13 PM
G
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2018
Location: United States
Posts: 33
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
the model is = GMS90703BXA
 
  #6  
Old 02-05-19, 07:22 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 59,855
Received 1,203 Votes on 1,113 Posts
0171M00000S is the inducer listed for that furnace. It has the drain fitting.
http://goodmanrepairparts.com/ventin...-goodmanamana/
 
  #7  
Old 02-05-19, 07:25 PM
G
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2018
Location: United States
Posts: 33
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
We ordered it from repair clinic and it doesn't have the fitting. We called them and they informed that goodman changed the part and no longer manufacture it with the drain.

I have noticed on some websites it shows the fitting but I'm guessing they just haven't changed the picture yet.

We did indeed order that part number BTW

https://www.repairclinic.com/PartDet...00001S/3342922
 

Last edited by geewiss; 02-05-19 at 07:27 PM. Reason: part number link
  #8  
Old 02-05-19, 07:34 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 59,855
Received 1,203 Votes on 1,113 Posts
Is your furnace set up for upflow (burners at the top) or counterflow(burners at the bottom) ?

I thought the yellow plug was a drain connection. It looks more like the pressure switch port.
 
  #9  
Old 02-05-19, 07:37 PM
G
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2018
Location: United States
Posts: 33
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
The furnace lays horizontal. I've attached a picture.
 
Attached Images  
  #10  
Old 02-05-19, 07:39 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 59,855
Received 1,203 Votes on 1,113 Posts
On that link page I left to the Goodman site is listed this part....
Horizontal Vent Drain Kit RF000142 | Goodman Repair Parts
 
  #11  
Old 02-05-19, 07:40 PM
G
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2018
Location: United States
Posts: 33
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
My plan is to order this new elbow
https://rdt.prod.repairclinic.com/Pa...71802S/2645593

and run longer drain line replacing the one in the picture above with the green clips.
 
  #12  
Old 02-05-19, 07:45 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 59,855
Received 1,203 Votes on 1,113 Posts
Is your picture of your furnace upside down ? It looks like you already have that drain fitting.
 
  #13  
Old 02-05-19, 07:49 PM
G
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2018
Location: United States
Posts: 33
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
No, the picture is just as it lays on the ground.

I don't have the drain fitting on the side as the one in the link does. I think I can get away with installing that new elbow in the link as long as that will force all water out the side drain.

The current elbow has what appears to be a drain at the top but it's currently sealed and there is no way for me to position it to get water to flow in that direction. I hope that makes sense.
 

Last edited by geewiss; 02-05-19 at 07:50 PM. Reason: correction
  #14  
Old 02-05-19, 08:01 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 59,855
Received 1,203 Votes on 1,113 Posts
Here's the problem..... water goes to the lowest point. So it's not going to go up into the exhaust line.
Where do you plan to install the right angle fitting ?

The white fitting that is on the inducer now is for when the furnace is standing up. Then you don't need the inducer with the drain port.
 
  #15  
Old 02-05-19, 08:08 PM
G
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2018
Location: United States
Posts: 33
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
The new right angle fitting that I'm going to purchase (with the drain on the side) is going to replace the current right angle fitting you see in my current furnace. I was hoping that the condensation is made in the exhaust pipe and would drain via this fitting.

Take a look at my furnace again and notice there there will still be another drain a the lowest point connected to the box behind the inducer. Where is all of the condensation produced? You still see an issue with my plan?

I'm still puzzled why Goodman would of removed this drain fitting on their "new and improved" inducers.

I saw the horizontal vent drain kit that you posted but I don't quite understand where this would be installed.
 
  #16  
Old 02-05-19, 08:28 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 59,855
Received 1,203 Votes on 1,113 Posts
I couldn't find any installed pictures of it but it goes in between the inducer and the right angle fitting going up. My guess it goes right at the inducer..... in the gray pipe.
 
  #17  
Old 02-05-19, 08:30 PM
G
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2018
Location: United States
Posts: 33
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Since it goes there, do you see any difference in my plan with the new elbow?

BTW, thanks for all your input!
 
  #18  
Old 02-05-19, 08:52 PM
G
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2018
Location: United States
Posts: 33
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Here is a picture of my plan.
 
Attached Images  
  #19  
Old 02-05-19, 10:35 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 59,855
Received 1,203 Votes on 1,113 Posts
I'm guessing it's worth a shot.
 
  #20  
Old 02-13-19, 02:34 PM
G
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2018
Location: United States
Posts: 33
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
UPDATE

New inducer and new elbow installed and it's been running now for about a week straight with no issues. I've attached a picture for you to look over and see what I did. I guess the overall issue was that the inducer couldn't always keep up the proper RPM to keep the pressure switches engaged. I guess time will tell if that was really the issue or not.

AGain thanks for all the input.
This forum rocks!
 
Attached Images  
  #21  
Old 02-13-19, 04:42 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 59,855
Received 1,203 Votes on 1,113 Posts
Good job. Nice and clean. Thanks for letting us know how you made out.
 
  #22  
Old 02-13-19, 04:48 PM
G
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2018
Location: United States
Posts: 33
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Thanks!

I'll tell you one thing. It sure is A LOT quieter and sure does seem to produce A LOT more condensation!
 
Reply
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: