Oil furnace on the fritz

Reply

  #1  
Old 02-26-19, 08:10 PM
M
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2018
Posts: 4
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Oil furnace on the fritz

I have a beckett model A burner thats been resetting frequently. It would fire, stop for a second than continue, sometimes it would stop firing several times but once the fan came on all would be ok and heat up as normal.
I changed the outside filter which was at least one of the problems since it was frozen and fuel was not getting in as well. It was ok for a couple days but started resetting again. I got a new primary control module thinking that might have been the culprit since it was over 10 years old. Still resetting but now a noise has been more evident like a bearing noise. Not sure if its the fuel pump or the entire burner.
Here is a video of what its doing now. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=WLM8bdSd5-M
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 02-26-19, 08:50 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 59,772
Received 1,189 Votes on 1,100 Posts
Filter outside. That can't be good in the cold.

Does that only pop/hesitate when you open the observation port ?
That pump does sound pretty noisy.
At first I thought it was a spark failure.

Got to wait for the other guys to come around. I'm not an oil man.
 
  #3  
Old 02-27-19, 05:22 AM
M
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2018
Posts: 4
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
It pops even with the flap shut.
the electrodes are new and the ignitor is fairly new. That bearing noise just started but I'm sure whatever that is, not good.
 
  #4  
Old 02-27-19, 07:23 AM
R
Member
Join Date: Oct 2016
Posts: 1,934
Received 104 Votes on 98 Posts
How long since the unit last had a full maintenance and cleaning?
Is there any air getting in the fuel? That will make for a noisy pump.
What is the vacuum on the fuel supply, and what is nozzle pressure?
Also, test the transformer for proper operation.
Please donít randomly change parts. All that does is waist money.
 
  #5  
Old 02-27-19, 07:35 AM
Grady's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Delaware, The First State
Posts: 14,254
Received 25 Votes on 23 Posts
Something certainly doesn't sound good. Did you check the pump screen? The flame pulsing like that could be a slipping pump coupling as well. If the screen & coupling look good, it might be pump time.
 
  #6  
Old 02-27-19, 01:05 PM
S
Member
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: United States
Posts: 3,025
Received 50 Votes on 47 Posts
You mentioned outside filter so I'M guessing your tank is outside, don't laugh, I'm not that smart. Your outside filter gave it away. It is not good to have an outside filter. You can have an outside tank but mount the oil filter inside at the burner. You are subject to freezing at the filter when installed outside.

Besides the previously mentioned coupling and pump and check all your fittings to make sure they are tight to prevent air which it certainly could be, you may also have some water in the fuel from the moisture in the outside canister.

I don't think you have an ignition problem the way it's behaving because once your burner ignites the electrodes and transformer do not come into play. Although today burners are run with constant ignition, in the older days it was intermittent ignition which means it would ignite the oil and then shut off to save the transformer.

Although not set up that way today you can prove it to yourself by lifting up the transformer once the fire is established and the burner will continue to run unless the cad cell shuts it down by not seeing enough light, but the point is you do not need it once flame is established.

If the coupling and pump screen and pump itself check out, you can get some oil or kerosene in a container and run a temp line to the pump to see how the burner runs. If it runs smooth then you will know it's moisture or water in the fuel.

Just my thoughts. hope this helps a little.

As a side note I've been through this. I bought a house with an outside tank and the previous owners had constant problems with freezing filters for 25 yrs. They kept calling the oil company to fix it. In 25 yrs. not 1 tech mentioned putting the filter inside which obviously was the first thing I did which solved all the problems.

You can leave the canister out there if you want so you don't have to change the setup but remove the element and install another filter inside.
 
  #7  
Old 02-28-19, 09:24 AM
Grady's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Delaware, The First State
Posts: 14,254
Received 25 Votes on 23 Posts
I too put the filter indoors but leave an empty filter can outdoors to act as a sediment bowl. I often find water in that can when I service a burner.
 
  #8  
Old 03-01-19, 07:59 AM
M
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2018
Posts: 4
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
You guys were right. The spicket off the tank to the filter was frozen. I must have got a bad batch of oil as this has never happened before and I've been through much colder winter's. Was surprised to see how terrible the furnace sounded when starving for oil.
My summer project will be to leave filter housing outside to act as a sediment bowl as the previous person mentioned and install a new one inside. Also, making a shed to cover it from the baking sun in summer which I think has caused some condensation build up and keep it from the snow and wind in winter.
Thanks for all the help!
 
  #9  
Old 03-01-19, 12:24 PM
S
Member
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: United States
Posts: 3,025
Received 50 Votes on 47 Posts
M,
Thank you for the update.
 
Reply
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: