Goodman Gas Pack No Heat


  #1  
Old 03-28-19, 05:07 AM
A
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2019
Posts: 11
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Goodman Gas Pack No Heat

Hello
I have Goodman model PGB024075-1 outdoor gas pack and have no heat when thermostat calls for heat. Iíve removed the panel and see a steady red LED lit on control board which indicates normal operation. Circulating fan runs when switched from Auto to On. Induced blower in furnace does not come on and no flame or heat. I can hear the Robert Shaw thermostat click when turned on to call for heat. Iíve cycled breaker on unit to shutdown and then start up. Is there a failure mode in which no trouble code on LED would be set? How can I confirm that board is actually getting a call for heat? Thank you for any help!
 
  #2  
Old 03-28-19, 05:36 AM
R
Member
Join Date: Oct 2016
Posts: 2,392
Received 165 Likes on 156 Posts
Use your meter to check for a call for heating at the board
 
  #3  
Old 03-28-19, 08:10 AM
A
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2019
Posts: 11
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Thanks. Do you have an idea which contacts/pins Iíd check for voltage? Iíd assume positive call for heat would show 24 volts...?
 
  #4  
Old 03-28-19, 08:21 AM
R
Member
Join Date: Oct 2016
Posts: 2,392
Received 165 Likes on 156 Posts
R-W should show 0V on a heating call. And 24V on no call.
 
  #5  
Old 03-31-19, 11:49 AM
A
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2019
Posts: 11
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Thanks for your help so far. I checked the voltage at the thermostat in house which is a Robert Shaw Model 9500. Itís setup in the 4-wire heat/cool mode with single transformer. The red, white, yellow, and green wires are hooked up. The call for fan on/off works fine have confirmed that I see 28.6 VAC across red/green with fan off. I see 0 VAC across red/green with fan on and fan does turn on. However, I see 28.6 VAC between red/white wires when no call for heat....but still 28.6 VAC with call for heat on. Similar results on cool side. I see 28.6 VAC between red/yellow with no call for cooling and still 28.6 VAC when cooling on. I have not yet confirmed all this outside in unit...pouring rain now. Bad thermostat, frayed/shorted control wire, or bad board outside? Should the 28.6 VAC value worry me cause itís not exactly 24 VAC?
 
  #6  
Old 03-31-19, 12:09 PM
R
Member
Join Date: Oct 2016
Posts: 2,392
Received 165 Likes on 156 Posts
Your not calling for heating or cooling
 
  #7  
Old 03-31-19, 12:27 PM
A
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2019
Posts: 11
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Ok. Perhaps not. But I hear the audible click when I turn on unit to cool/heat and set temp is set to call for heat or cool, yet I do not see 0 VAC on either red/white or red/yellow when heat/cool call should be made by thermostat. Audible click, but no drop to 0VAC. Since I have no trouble code on Goodman control board outside, Iím leaning toward faulty thermostat. Does that sound like reasonable next step?
 
  #8  
Old 03-31-19, 12:27 PM
R
Member
Join Date: Oct 2016
Posts: 2,392
Received 165 Likes on 156 Posts
Jump out the thermostat and see if the unit starts.
 
  #9  
Old 03-31-19, 12:33 PM
A
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2019
Posts: 11
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Roger. I was wondering if I could do that. Let me make sure I understand. By jumping out, you mean disconnecting the white wire on thermostat to force heat on....right? Same idea on cool side with yellow wire.
 
  #10  
Old 03-31-19, 12:36 PM
R
Member
Join Date: Oct 2016
Posts: 2,392
Received 165 Likes on 156 Posts
You would jump R-W and R-Y to test heating and then cooling.
 
  #11  
Old 03-31-19, 12:46 PM
A
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2019
Posts: 11
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Crap. Iím afraid I effed up. I shorted the red and white terminals together and nothing happened. Now when I check for 28VAC between red/white, I get 0 VAC. Before I had 28. Did I screw something up? Next step..?
 
  #12  
Old 03-31-19, 12:50 PM
R
Member
Join Date: Oct 2016
Posts: 2,392
Received 165 Likes on 156 Posts
Are you certain white goes to W outside? R-W shouldn’t be a short unless you grounded the wire.
 
  #13  
Old 03-31-19, 12:50 PM
A
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2019
Posts: 11
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
By shorted I mean I took a wire and touched it to between the red and white connection on terminal block.
 
  #14  
Old 03-31-19, 01:00 PM
A
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2019
Posts: 11
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Whatever I did, it blew the 5 amp fuse outside on control board. Itís hard to tell what colors some of the wires are in outside control board.

Iím going to get a new fuse. What exactly did you mean by jumper the R-W to simulate call for heat? Did you mean to disconnect the red and white at thermostat and wire them together? What I did was get short length of wired and touch it to red and white terminal screws on the terminal block in thermostat.
 
  #15  
Old 03-31-19, 01:06 PM
A
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2019
Posts: 11
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Iíve confirmed that the red, white, yellow, and green wires from thermostat got to proper pins on connect o control board outside. Pins 9, 10, 11, and 7. I have diagram of control board from unit door.
 
  #16  
Old 03-31-19, 02:37 PM
A
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2019
Posts: 11
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Hey Iím back to where I was. I installed a new 5A fuse in Goodman control board and confirmed same symptoms. Fan runs but not heat or cooling. Thermostat shows 28 VAC between R/W, R/Y, and R/G. When thermostat calls for heat I hear click, but no drop to zero VAC between R/W...so is not actually calling for heat. Can you explain in a few simple steps how to Ďjumperí the thermostat to force call for heat or cooling? Iím afraid I did not do it correctly before and blew that 5A fuse. Thanks for your help!
 
  #17  
Old 03-31-19, 04:03 PM
A
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2019
Posts: 11
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Update. Turned off power to unit and I removed the red and green wires from screw terminal on thermostat to prove I can jumper the fan that way. It worked. Then removed white wire and connected white to red and blew fuse on outside control board again. Of course I cut power before jumpering. I also found frayed thermostats control wires outside and thinking there may be a short outside but not sure why the thermostat doesnít blow fuse also, just as when I jumper red/white. I will try to jumper right at the control board tomorrow to prove I can turn on heat/cooling from there to bypass the thermostat and thermostat control wire.
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: