York Furnace problem

Old 05-04-19, 03:55 PM
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
York Furnace problem

Hello, I have problems with my furnace.

It is York G8C model and model number is G8c07516muc12g. I have been using this furnace for about 15 years now.
I’ve had a problem with this furnace about 7 years ago, and it was repaired by replacing circuit board.

New problem started from about three weeks ago. Furnace stopped working and there was error sign on the board. 3 red blinking flashes - Pressure switch failed to close.

I restarted the furnace and found that ignition didn’t start at all after inducer pan started to operate.
3 flashes appeared after several clicking sounds and furnace stopped operating in few minutes.

So I tried
- turned off the power
- Cleaned up the inside of furnace.
- Checked and replaced the air filter.
- Checked the pressure switch tube and cleaned inside.
- unplugged the pressure switch wires and plugged it back.
- used paperclip to clean the nipple on the inducer pan
- checked the ignitor (it looked bit dirty.)
- There is no condensate pipe for my furnace, so I cannot check clogged pipe.

Nothing worked. Based on technician's advice, I ordered new pressure switch and ignitor, and replaced them.

OK it started to work again after trying resetting the furnace several times, but it lasted only for 2 days and stopped working again.

This time the error sign was 4 flashes - limit switch open.

I turned off the furnace, cooled down, restarted, and it didn't even start to ignite it and showed limit switch error sign. After that, it just blowed cold air for several minutes and stopped operating.