Gas furnace FHA filter


  #1  
Old 07-03-19, 01:06 PM
J
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Massachusetts
Posts: 110
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Gas furnace FHA filter

I bought a home recently with natural gas fed Central HVAC. On the lower section of the furnace is the 'connection' for the duct system. It has a large pleated filter installed in between the furnace body and the duct work. The filter is about 24" square and 1" thick and is just slid into place. A lot of air can get in around it from the basement bypassing the return/feed duct system. Am I correct in saying that this should be a 'closed' system??
 
Attached Images  
  #2  
Old 07-03-19, 03:40 PM
G
Member
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: USA
Posts: 3,018
Received 13 Votes on 13 Posts
From the picture, there appears to be a return air duct to the right of the furnace? Is that connected to the furnace? It seems that the return duct vents into the basement, and then the return air to the furnace, in turn, comes from the basement. Very unorthodox, but it might work, after a fashion. Please post more pix with a wider angle so we can see how everything goes together.

Did you hire a home inspector before you closed on the house?
 
  #3  
Old 07-03-19, 04:29 PM
J
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Massachusetts
Posts: 110
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
The whole duct system comes in from above that point heading through that filter area. I attached a better pic of that area. An inspector did 'look' at the whole house.....but if it isn't burning or leaking they check off the OK box if you know what I mean.
 
Attached Images  
  #4  
Old 07-03-19, 10:04 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 61,872
Received 1,480 Votes on 1,368 Posts
Not the neatest job but it's ok.

The important thing is that the filter fits tight to the furnace to keep the dust out of the furnace. You could fashion some type of cover there to keep dust from being sucked in off the floor.
 
  #5  
Old 07-04-19, 05:54 AM
J
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Massachusetts
Posts: 110
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
My thoughts were; Is there a cover of some sort that is missing. Also isn't a system like this supposed to cycle/recycle air from the areas being heated/cooled and not any other area?
 
  #6  
Old 07-04-19, 10:20 AM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 61,872
Received 1,480 Votes on 1,368 Posts
In a perfect world..... that filter would be easily removable and completely sealed.
 
  #7  
Old 07-04-19, 11:01 AM
J
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Massachusetts
Posts: 110
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
In post #3 the filter 'box' looks like it is taped to the duct and the bottom looks open. You are saying that the install was sloppy? That was my impression. Theoretically in a good system air is moved from the living area(s) and brought to the furnace/AC unit and either heated or cooled to the desired temperature. Then it is returned to those areas, repeatedly. Essentially I have a hole in my duct work because of all the outside air along with any airborne contaminants that this air filter assembly is allowing in.
 
  #8  
Old 07-06-19, 09:46 AM
user 10's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: NA
Posts: 2,107
Received 45 Votes on 39 Posts
With the tape there it's hard to tell if the return drop is properly connected to the filter holder.

There should be a cover for the filter holder - if it's nowhere to be seen you can tape over the filter for now so air doesn't leak through the gaps.

Some return air leakage is not big deal but it shouldn't be near a natural draft water heater, as room can be put under negative pressure and it can back-draft.
 
justsumoldguy voted this post useful.
  #9  
Old 07-06-19, 10:38 AM
Geochurchi's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: United States
Posts: 5,026
Received 91 Votes on 86 Posts
Hi, does that arrangement have a track on the bottom as well as the top for the filter to slide into? I’ll bet the back is wide open also, any chance a 2” wide filter would fit there?
Ya, got to love HI’s
Geo
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: